Q & A On The New Accommodation Standards For Hotels

Q & A On The New Accommodation Standards For Hotels


1. What is the National Accommodation Standards?

Pursuant to the authority vested in the Department of Tourism by Republic Act 9593, otherwise known as the National Tourism Act 2009, the department, in consultation with concerned sectors, is tasked to formulate the minimum standards for accreditation and to promulgate the appropriate rules and regulations governing the operation of primary and secondary tourism enterprises. By virtue of this law, the department promulgated the National Accommodation Standards that prescribes the set of requirements and standards needed for the operation and maintenance of accommodation facilities and services that cater to foreign and local tourists. This national standards system becomes the basis for assigning internationally recognized star-classification for hotels, resorts and apartment hotels (1-5 star rating).

2. What is the basis for formulating the National Accommodation Standards?

The Department of Tourism is mandated to be the primary planning, programming, coordinating, implementing and regulatory government agency in the development and promotion of the tourism industry, both domestic and international, in coordination with attached agencies and other government instrumentalities. The law declares it a national policy for tourism to be one of the country's engines of investment and employment, and of growth and national development.

3. What is the procedure in formulating such standards?

The DOT Office of Tourism Standards and Regulations with assistance from the German Technical Cooperation (GIZ) conducted series of consultation workshops with tourism stakeholders in key destinations in the country. The drafting of the National Accommodation Standards was prepared by an international consultant hired by GIZ.

4. What is the main difference between the old accommodation standards and the new accommodation standards?

The old accommodation standards of classifying accommodation enterprises is based on an inventory checklist approach focusing on the existence of facilities offered by the enterprise.

On the other hand, the new set of accommodation standards is a point system based on inventory, availability, condition and quality of a specific facility as well as service.

5. When is the implementation of the National Accommodation Standards?

Last quarter of 2012 onwards.

6. How will the new accommodation standards be implemented?

Third party auditors will be hired by DOT to conduct the inspection/assessment. The DOT shall issue the accreditation certificate based on the assessment rating results.

7. How much is the assessment/accreditation fee?

On the first year of implementation, the DOT shall subsidize the assessment fee, while the enterprise shall pay the accreditation fee corresponding to its current classification. However, a new schedule of accreditation fees shall be imposed on the 2nd year of implementation after due consultation with stakeholders.

8. How long is the validity of the accreditation?

The Certificate of Accreditation shall be valid for a period of two (2) years unless sooner cancelled or revoked for cause and upon issuance and imposition of the new schedule of accreditation fees.

9. What will happen to an enterprise that failed to meet the requirements of the new accommodation standards and classification?

Non-compliance with the standards

Assessors of the department shall submit a report with recommendations based on the inspection findings to the Office of Tourism Standards and Regulation. The OTSR shall then send a letter to the concerned enterprise regarding its deficiencies, specifying a grace period of minimum of three (3) months within which to rectify such findings. Non-compliance within the allotted grace period may result in the cancellation and/or downgrading of accreditation of the concerned enterprise. The department shall likewise inform the concerned local government unit regarding the accreditation status of the enterprise.

Non-compliance with desired classification

The enterprise will be classified to a lower grade that does not require the minimum requirement for its desired classification. After rectification, however, of its deficiencies for its desired classification, the enterprise may request for a re-inspection and upgrading of its present classification even before the expiry of its accreditation.