Google  |  VisitMyPhilippines 
Home >> Go to the Regions >> Region III Central Luzon >> Resource Center >> Central Luzon Sales Manual >> Central Luzon Sales Manual    

Central Luzon Sales Manual


At the heart of Fareast Asia lies Bulacan—a province in the Republic of the Philippines, situated in the country\\\\\'s Central Luzon Region, north of Manila, the nation\\\\\'s capital.

Bulacan prides itself for its rich historical heritage. In 1899, the historic Barasoain Church in Malolos City (Bulacan\\\\\'s capital city) is the birthplace of the First Constitutional Democracy in Asia.

Bulacan is also the cradle of the nation\\\\\'s noble heroes, of great men and women; among them: Marcelo H. del Pilar—\\\\\\\"The Great Propagandist,\\\\\\\" and General Gregorio del Pilar\\\\\\\"—The Hero of Tirad Pass.\\\\\\\"

Bulacan is also home to many of the country\\\\\'s greatest artists, with a good number elevated as National Artists; among them: the legendary poet Francisco \\\\\\\"Baltazar\\\\\\\" Balagtas, the musician Nicanor Abelardo, and the nationalist sculptor Guillermo Tolentino.

Today, Bulacan is among the most progressive provinces in the Philippines. Its people—the Bulakeño (or Bulakenyo)—are highly educated, enterprising and industrious.

Bulacan is well-known for the following industries: Marble and Marbleized Limestone, Jewelry, Pyrotechnics, Leather, Aquaculture, Meat and Meat Products, Garments, Furniture, High-Value Crops, and Sweets and Native Delicacies, and a wide variety of high-quality native products.

Dubbed as the \\\\\\\"Northern Gateway from Manila,\\\\\\\" Bulacan is indeed an ideal investment destination owing largely to the following factors: Strategic Location; Highly Productive Human Resources; Abundant Natural Resources; Well-Developed Infrastructure Support; Reasonable Cost for Doing Business; Effective Government and Private Sector Partnership for Investments; Favorable Peace and Order Situation; and Attractive Investments Incentives.

Bulacan has fast become an ideal tourist destination, owing to its vital role in Philippine history, and its rich heritage in culture and the arts. The province is popularly known for its historical sites; nostalgic old houses and churches; idyllic ecological attractions; religious attractions; colorful and enchanting festivals; swimming and various themed attractions; and a wide selection of elegant native crafts and sumptuous delicacies. It is also home to numerous resorts, hotels, restaurants, and other recreational facilities.

The Province of Bulacan, Philippines offers everything that you can ever hope for. An ideal and peaceful community. A committed government. A haven for business and investments. A perfect vacation getaway.

How to get there

By Air

Manila, Cebu, Davao, Clark, Subic, and Laoag are the international gateways. The Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) in Manila is the premier gateway. It is served by more than 30 airlines which fly to different cities around the world. The Mactan International Airport (MIA) in Cebu handles regular flights from Japan, Singapore and Australia as well as chartered flights from Hong Kong, the United States and other major travel capitals. Davao International Airport handles regular flights from Indonesia and Singapore. The Diosdado Macapagal International Airport and Subic Bay International Airport in Central Luzon service both chartered and cargo planes. Laoag International Airport in Ilocos Norte services regular flights from Taiwan and Macau.

Philippine Airlines, the country\\\\\'s flag carrier, links Manila to 14 cities in 8 countries. Major cruise liners call on the port of Manila.

Philippine Airlines, Air Philippines, Cebu Pacific provided daily services to major cities and towns. Asian Spirit, Laoag International Airlines, and Seair service the missionary routes. There are also scheduled chartered flights to major domestic destinations serviced by smaller commuter planes. For inquiries and reservations, please refer to the section on Domestic Flights below.

Metered and fixed rate taxis are widely available in key cities nationwide. Jeepneys and buses are inexpensive ways of getting around most places. In Metro Manila the fastest way of commuting is via the railway system. Light Rail Transit (LRT) connects the northern district of Monumento to the southern district of Baclaran with stations situated at major intersections. Metro Rail Transit (MRT) traverses the length of EDSA and connects North Avenue in Quezon City to Taft Avenue in Pasay City, passing through the major arteries of Makati\\\\\'s financial district.

By Land

Moving around the country by land is easy with national highways connecting the major islands and an extensive public transportation system, which includes the exotic Philippine jeepney. Trains, taxis, buses, jeepneys, and trikes are the main modes of public transportation.

The MacArthur Highway traverses the province from north to south. Most major towns can be reached through the North Luzon Expressway. A good number of motor vehicles owned largely by private individuals provide mobility to Bulacan\\\\\'s populace. Aside from five main highways that traverse the province, all roads are widely dispersed throughout Bulacan.

Bus terminals of Baliuag Transit, California Bus Line, Sampaguita Liner and Royal Eagle are in Baliuag, Balagtas and Hagonoy. The main bus lines of Philippine Rabbit, Victory Liner, Aladdin Transit that originate from their main terminals in Manila, Pasay and Quezon City and travel northward to cities and towns in Pampanga, Tarlac and Zambales, pass through Bulacan via the Tabang exit.

All buses bound for Northern parts of Luzon pass through Bulacan. Malolos is a near 30-minute ride from Manila. Baliuag Transit in Cubao has buses that leave every half hour for Baliuag and Hagonoy.

By Sea

As the islands of the Philippines are separated by different bodies of water, the sea plays an integral part in travel. A range of seafarers are available, from huge cargo ships to small ferry boats; take long trips that last for a day or two with regular ship lines or take shorter ones with ferries. Major cruise liners call on the port of Manila.

Tourist Attractions

Historical & Cultural

Enriquez Ancestral House
Bulacan, Bulacan
Constructed during the 1850s, it is one of the ancestral houses found in San Jose, Bulacan, Bulacan. Some of the documents of Marcelo H. del Pilar were found in this house. It houses a museum of rare antiques and historical artifacts. It is presently owned by acclaimed Filipino food historian Milagros Enriquez.

Meyto Shrine
Calumpit, Bulacan
This is the cradle of Christianity in the province, where the first Catholic Mass was held by the Augustinian friars, armed with cross in 1572.

St. John the Baptist Church
Calumpit, Bulacan
Built in 1572, the St. John the Baptist Church is the oldest church in Bulacan. Constructed under the supervision of Augustinian priest Fr. Diego Vivar-Ordoñez, the church had been witness to the Filipino’s struggle against Spanish, American and Japanese rule. Inside the church is a tunnel that, according to history, was used by priests during the Spanish regime to keep gold, religious statues, and ornate jewelry hidden from the sight of treasure hunters. Likewise, it is in this tunnel where revolutionaries and Spaniards were buried during the war. This was also Gen. Tanaka’s (Japanese Imperial Army) last battlefield.

Barasoain Ecclesiastical Museum
San Gabriel, Malolos City, Bulacan
A museum managed by National Historical Institute showcasing a collection of municipal antiques and priceless array of artifacts.

Basilica Minore de Immaculada Concepcion
Malolos City, Bulacan
This historic church was in 1896 the seat of power of Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo—the first president of the Republic of the Philippines. Located in front of the Basilica Minore is a century-old tree known as the Kalayaan Tree (Tree of Freedom) which was planted by Pres. Aguinaldo during a lull in the historic Malolos Convention. It is presently the seat of the Diocese of Malolos, and has been the bastion of faith for the past centuries.

Bulacan Museum
Provincial Capitol Compound, Malolos City, Bulacan
The Museo ng Bulacan (Bulacan Museum) houses a collection of valuable relics and mementos, articles, documents and handicrafts of the Philippine revolution. Located in Malolos to promote the cultural heritage and tradition of the province. It is under the management of the Provincial Government of Bulacan.

Casa Real Shrine
San Agustin, Malolos City, Bulacan
A printing press during the Malolos Republic, the Casa Real was restored in 1852 and converted into a municipal library. It is now a museum under the management of the National Historical Institute and serves as the final repository of still existing memorabilia.

Pinagrealan Cave
Minuyan, Norzagaray, Bulacan
This cave is a subterranean network of caverns extending more than a kilometer deep. The Katipunero Revolutionaries during the war against Spain used it as a camp in 1896 and again during the Filipino-American War in 1898 as hideout of General Emilio Aguinaldo (the First President of the Philippines). It was also used as a sanctuary by the Japanese Imperial Army when the Philippines was liberated by American Forces.

Kakarong de Sili Shrine
Pandi, Bulacan
It is on this site where the bloodiest revolution in Bulacan took place where more than 3,000 Katipunero revolutionaries died. Likewise, it is on this site where the Republic of Real de Kakarong de Sili of 1896 was established.

Tecson House
San Miguel, Bulacan
Three sons of original owners were all officers of the revolutionary army of Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo. For sometime, this house was used as the headquarters of Aguinaldo. The house is now owned by Mr. and Mrs. Cenen Mendiola. Simon Tecson is the Original Owner.

Marcelo H. del Pilar Shrine
Bulacan, Bulacan
Marcelo H. del Pilar—patriot, writer, editor of the revolutionary paper La Solidaridad—is honored with this monument in Bulacan where he lived most of his life. The shrine is under the management of the National Historical Institute.

Biak-na-Bato National Park
San Miguel, Bulacan
A huge split boulder which is the mountain hideout of the revolutionary forces during the Spanish regime and the place where the Malolos Constitution was signed by Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo and Pedro Paterno. It is where the historic Biak-na-Bato Republic was established.The park appeals to the adventurous spirit with its challenging rock formations. Hanging bridges and staircases connecting rivers and caves make for a pleasurable exploration.Among the many ecological attractions in Biak-na-Bato National Park are Bahay Paniki Cave, Aguinaldo Cave, Madlum Cave, Tanggapan Cave, and Tilandong Falls.

Old Train Station
Guiguinto, Bulacan
Built in 1661, the Estacion de Guiguinto (Guiguinto Train Station) is the towns most acclaimed historical landmark and heritage site. It was upon this site that the Katipuneros (Filipino guerillas during the Spanish Regime) ambushed a train from Dagupan, killing six friars, including the parish friar of Guiguinto, Fr. Leocadio Sanchez, and a Spanish doctor. The incident inspired Severino Reyes to author the novel “Opera Walang Sugat” which was later made into a movie entitled “Walang Sugat.”

Barasoain Church
San Gabriel, Malolos City, Bulacan
A national shrine, the historic Barasoain Church is the site of the Constitutional Convention of the first Philippine Republic, making the Philippines the very first Asian Government to promulgate a Constitution. It was the Seat of the First Philippine Republic on Sept. 15, 1898 to the last week of Feb. 1899 under the presidency of Pedro Paterno. In its convent the Universidad Literaria Cientifica de Filipinas was first housed. It also boasts of a light and sound museum under the management of National Historical Institute.

Baliuag Museum
Baliuag, Bulacan
It is the town’s center for historical and cultural heritage.

Mercado House
Bustos, Bulacan
One of the several houses used as a fort by the Katipuneros, boasts of unique architectural designs of stone carvings on facade and walls, a masterpiece of Bulacan artisans.

Battle of Quingua Monument
Agnaya, Plaridel, Bulacan
Filipinos are well-known to be courageous and freedom lovers. The people of Plaridel are no exception. The marker commemorates the historic Battle of Quingua (Plaridel at present) where the Filipinos triumphed over the American forces in their fight for freedom. Likewise, it also commemorates the death of Col. John Stotsenberg—a prominent figure of the Philippine-American war.

Bagbag Bridge
Calumpit, Bulacan
Site of the longest battle between the Americans and Filipinos led by General Gregorio del Pilar which took place in April 25, 1899. The bridge now standing serves as a reminder of the valor displayed by the Filipino who triumphed against the American forces.


Matictic, Norzagaray, Bulacan
The well-known Bakas is located at Barangay Matictic. It is a very interesting spot where the foot markings of the legendary Bernardo Carpio and his pets can be found. The place presents a lush green scenery, with fresh air and cool, clean and calm flowing current

Verdivia Falls
Dona Remedios Trinidad, Bulacan
Located in Barangay Talbak, this splendid waterfall is an ideal venue for group picnics and outings.

Garden City
Santa Cruz, Guiguinto, Bulacan
The Garden City at the Guiguinto Cloverleaf just outside the Tabang Exit is the municipality’s main tourist attraction. Visitors are welcomed by a serene but inviting sight of greens and colorful flowers that exemplifies Guiguinteños ingenuity with regards to gardening and both landscaping and hardscaping. It has been the dream and aim of Guiguinto to be conferred the title “The Garden Capital of the Philippines.”

Pinagrealan Cave
Minuyan, Norzagaray, Bulacan
This cave is a subterranean network of caverns extending more than a kilometer deep. The Katipunero Revolutionaries during the war against Spain used it as a camp in 1896 and again during the Filipino-American War in 1898 as hideout of General Emilio Aguinaldo (the First President of the Philippines). It was also used as a sanctuary by the Japanese Imperial Army when the Philippines was liberated by American Forces.

Pulilan Butterfly Haven and Resort
San Francisco, Pulilan, Bulacan
A sure heaven for butterfly and nature lovers with a scenic view of a garden and collection of different species of orchids and butterflies. Located within the facilities is an antiques museum as well as a resort center with swimming pools.

Angat Hydroelectric Dam
Angat, Bulacan
One of the country’s largest dams. This dam supplies potable water and energy to Metro Manila and nearby areas. Surrounded by lush greens, this place is also ideal for fishing, boating and hunting.

C & B Orchid Farm
Maguinao, San Rafael, Bulacan
Orchid lovers must visit the C&B; Orchid Farm which boasts of more than 100,000 orchids of different species on a 12-hectare nature’s paradise in San Rafael under the stewardship of world-renowned inventor, Bonifacio Isidro.

Norzagaray, Bulacan
Dubbed as the “Bagiuo of Bulacan”, its breathtaking scenic view of the Sierra Madre Range does not fail to mesmerize every tourist that visits the place.

Grotto of Our Lady of Lourdes
Graceville, San Jose del Monte City, Bulacan
An exact replica of the Lourdes Grotto in France, it features a mock hill calvary where life-size statues depict the passion and death of Jesus Christ. This grotto attracts big crowds during the Lenten season.

Puning Cave
Bayabas, Doña Remedios Trinidad, Bulacan
Experience the thrill of trekking mountain slopes leading to hidden caves in Doña Remedios Trinidad. See the amazing rainforests where wild boars, monkeys, deer and birds abound.

Bustos Dam
Bustos, Bulacan
One of the longest “sector gates” in the world, this huge reservoir of the Angat Hydroelectric plant at Barrio Hilltop serves as the source of electric power in the province and Metro Manila. It is an ideal place for picnic with its cool and inspiring scenery.

Accommodation Facilities (DOT – Accredited)

City of San Jose Del Monte
Tel. No.: (044) 691-0223 / 691-0224
Fax No.: (044) 815-0943 / 815-0944
Email: [email protected]

29 Fausta Subd., McArthur Hiway,
Malolos City, Bulacan
Tel. No.: (044) 791-0378 / 662-0044
Fax No.: (044) 796-0131
Email: [email protected]

Travel Agencies

711 Morante Bldg. Banga 1st, Plaridel, Bulacan
Tel. No.: (044) 670 2373
Fax No.: (044) 6702765

2nd Floor, Waltermart, Plaridel, Bulacan
Tel. No.: (044) 795 2157 / 670 1657

Lot 2 Blk 17 Acacia St. Primavera Homes, Baliaug, Bulacan
Tel. No.: (044) 7667798 / 673 5021
Fax No.: (044) 761 0318

G/F Uniwide Bldg.
Tel. No.: (044) 796 0528
Fax No.: (044) 791 9169

586 Gil Carlos St., Poblacion Baliuag
Tel. No.: (044) 673 1690 / 892 0570


General Description

Discover the magic with this amazing historical and cultural region, only an hour by ferryboat across the bay from Manila. Until recently not a traditional tourist destination, this province is now proving to be a tourist haven with many exciting places to visit, and a lot of interesting things to do. There is so much to offer in Bataan, culture, beauty, history, in spoilt beaches and a warm hospitality that is truly Filipino.

Bataan was established in 1754 by Governor General Pedro Manuel Arandia out of territories belonging to Pampanga and the corregimiento of Mariveles, which at the time, included Maragondon in Cavite across the bay. The province had more than its share of significant historical events. In 1647, Dutch Naval Forces attempting to invade the country perpetrated the Abucay massacre in one of its towns. In the late 1700s, the dreaded Chinese private Limahong used Lusong Point on the western sides as the landing place to launch his conquest of Luzon. In the Philippine Revolution of 1896, Bataan joined the other provinces in Luzon, which revolted against Spanish rule.It was during World War II, however that Bataan attained prominence that would find its place in the annals of world history. Under heavy aircraft and artillery shelling from the invading Japanese forces, the beleaguered Filipino - American troops valiantly defended this last bastion until the \\\\\\\"Fall of Bataan\\\\\\\" on April 9, 1942.

How to get there

Land transportation is provided by three bus companies: The Philippine Rabbit and Pantranco Bus Liner ply the Bataan-Manila route while the Victory Liner services the Bataan-Olongapo route. An array of mini-buses, jeepneys, and tricycles fill the gaps in the intermunicipal road with Balanga as the Terminal point. Mini buses enroute for Manila, Olongapo, and San Fernando, Pampanga are also available in the capital town.

Travel by air is yet very limited. Bataan has no modern airport, only low standard airstrips and helipads are available to government and private airplanes and helicopters. There are 5 industrial enterprises that have that have these airstrips for their usage. These are the Bataan Pulp and Paper Mills, Inc. in Samal; Bataan Export Processing Zone and Landoil Multinational Village both in the town of Mariveles and Petrophil in Limay.

Travel by sea-Bataan waters are navigable by both inter-island and international vessels to and from the province. Four (4) national, one (1) municipal, and (4) private piers are serving and accommodating vessels transporting gppds and passengers in and out of the province. Passenger vessels consist of a ferry boat \\\\\\\"Overcraft\\\\\\\" with three trips plying to and from Mariveles and Manila and EPZA 1 which ferry EPZA quests. Dicking point is at BASECO, Port of Mariveles. Because of the short distance to Corregidor, passengers prefer to travel by boat at a convenience as well as view the historical place.

Tourist Attractions

First Line of Defense Marker
Marks the first strong line of defense of combined Phil. and USAFFE troops against the Japanese invasion during World War II.

Democracy Marker
Situated at the provincial boundary between Pampanga and Bataan which depicts the role of Bataan in the fight for freedom for the preservation of democracy.

Death March Marker
The folk arts statue commemorating the defiant spirit of Bataan, where Death march marches passed on their way to the prison camp.

Tomas Pinpin Monument
In memory of first Filipino printer. It was in Abucay church where Tomas Pinpin co-authored and printed the earliest books in the country with Fr. Blancas de San Jose in 1610.

First Abucay Catholic Church
On this site a fierce battle between the Dutch and the natives together with defenders took place in June 23, 1647. The church is one of the oldest churches in the Philippines. It housed the first printing press in the country which outdated any single press in the US

The Main Battle Position
Abucay Town
The battle possition of the USAFFE, known officially as the Abucay -Morong Line, under the War Plan Orange 3. The then second Lieutenant Alexander R. Miniger, Jr., 57th Infantry (PS) Gainsville, Georgia was posthumously decorated the Congressional Medal for an action on this line 12 January 1942, and became the first America´s highest military decoration.

Abucay Municipal Building
A historic relic of one of the largest town of Bataan.

Bankal Settlement
A newly created barangay where the Actas still maintain their traditional customs and usages in accordance with our cultural heritage.

Bagak Town
Zero Kilometer Marker. The start of the infamous Death March that also marks the beginning of Japanese control over the nation.

Camaliw Falls
This natural falls presents a project idea for tourism and recreational development.

Kaytibong Falls
This natural waterfalls remains to be developed.

Catholic Church Belfry
This was used as a site for Japanese artillery bombardment of Mt. Samat where both Filipino and American Forces gave their last stand.

Lamao World War II Marker
World War II exempted almost no place in the province that this town overlooking Manila Bay and Corregidor deserves a marker.

Flaming Sword
A symbol of the Filipino courage and gallantry in the face of external threats to the nation´s democracy and peace.

Final Battle Site Marker
To remember the coutage and heroism of Bataan defenders amidst hunger, sickness and death.

Battle of Trail 2
Capot Hill
A point where several men died in defense of freedom and democracy.

Dunsulan Falls
Ideal site for pocnics and inland swimming.

Sitio Diwa
A full-pledged barangay but a glorious example of a small village which answered the call for the united defense against foreign aggressors.

Fall of Bataan Marker
This commemorates the fall of Bataan, in memory of war veterans, living and dead. The marker symbolizes the courage and the enduring commitment of a Filipino soldier to his country.

Surrender Site Marker
Marks the spot where the grim surrender of Bataan and Corregidor was signed by Maj. Gen. Edward King Jr., on April 9, 1942. Surrender marker can be found within the compound of Balanga Elementary School.

Dambana ng Kagitingan(Shrine of Valor)
Natural shrine atop Mt. Samat which immortalizes the agony of the Filipino and Americans against the forces of aggression and articulates the Commitment of the Filipino people to freedom and dignity.

Mt. Samat
Was the scene of the most heroic defensive battle during World War II.

Mt. Malasimbo
A cinica-shaped mountain cinsidered as a weather forcasting device predicting a coming typhoon when its summit is covered with dark clouds.

Battle of Toul Pocket Marker
Marks the significant pockers where a battle ensued as a prelude to the final defense in Bataan. The series of fights to eliminate the Japanese forces known as the Battle of Pockets fought from Jan 27 to Feb. 17.

Sibul Spring
A tourist potential with sulfuric swimming pool and wide area for outdoor recreation.

Pasukulan Falls
A natural wonder at the valley of Mt. Natib which has fresh vegetation and unexplored area.

Maria Canon Statue
This tower was erected for the repose of many dead souls in the Philippines during World War 2 by the Mie-ken Daiichi Shueesec of the Japanese Sohtohshuh Spot, September 1978.

Philippine-Japan Friendship Tower
This symbolizes that after a war, there is a period of reconciliation, peace and friendship.

Roosevelt National Park
A forest reservation ideal for outdoor adventures and Boy Scout Camporal area with facilities for irrigation and game hunting.

Alangan River
In Bataan every place is a place to go. No small creek or river is without a tint of history and of practical value.

The Bataan export Processing Zone Authority is the site of many foreign based factories and companies producing items ranging from dolls to automobiles for export.

U.N. Refuge Center
Located in Morong Town. A temporary resettlement area and processing center for Indo-Chinese refugees migrating to European, American and Facific countries.

Nuclear Power Plant
The country´s first controversial commercial nuclear power plant with a capacity of 620 megawatts.

Cayetano Arellano Marker
Located on Orion Town. This marks Orion, as the birthplace of the first Filipino Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

Francisco Balagtas Monument
In honor of the great Filipino poet and patriot, this monument was erected.

Accredited Establishments

Crown Royale Hotel & Resort Corp.
Capitol Drive, San Jose, City of Balanga
Tel. No.: (047) 237 1961 / 237 1963
Fax No.: (047) 791 3380

La Vista Balanga Inland Resort
Roman Super Highway, Brgy. Central, Balanga City
Tel. No.: (047) 791 5359
Fax No.: (047) 237 1691

Raven Resort & Log Cabin Treasure Island
Roman Super Highway, Gabon, Abucay, Bataan
Telefax No.: (047) 461 2429

Joyous Resort & Restaurant
Dama de Noche St., Doña Francisca Subdivision,
Balanga City, Bataan


Nueva Ecija is the largest province and the biggest rice producer of Central Luzon, thus, often referred to as the “Rice Bowl of the Philippines.”

Among its main attractions is the Pantabangan River, the country’s first multi-purpose infrastructure, which stands today as a phenomenon in Filipino engineering feats. Another is the Pampanga river, cutting across a rich valley floor, famed for irrigation, the generation of hydroelectric power, and the mitigation of flood damage.

Nueva Ecija is also the agri-tourism pilot site in Central Luzon due to the presence of the Central Luzon State University in the province.

Its other worthwhile attractions include the Minalungao National Park, Rizal Hot Spring, Burburayok Springs and Pajanutic Falls, Barrio Puncan in the town of Carranglan, among others.

Brief History

In 1705, Spanish Governor General Fausto Cruzar created the province and named it Nueva Ecija after his hometown Ecija in Seville, Spain.

In 1818, Nueva Ecija annexed a long strip of territory facing the Pacific Ocean in the east that extended from Palawan (now in Isabela) in the north to Infanta in Tayabas (now Quezon) in the south. In 1848, it acquired the towns of Gapan, San Isidro, Cabiao. San Antonio and Casiguran were separated from Nueva Ecija and annexed to Tayabas. Palanan was transferred first to Nueva Ecija then to Isabela. With the subsequent separation of Infanta and Polilio Island, Nueva Ecija’s isolation from the sea became complete.

Nueva Ecija was one of the first eight provinces that took up arms against Spanish rule in 1896. During the Filipino-American War, General Emilio Aguinaldo retreated to the province and, on May 9, 1899, made Cabanatuan the temporary seat of his government until it was moved to Bamban, Tarlac. General Antonio Luna was killed on June 5, 1899 in the convent of the town’s church.

American forces, after occupying Nueva Ecija in 1899, established the provincial seat of government in San Isidro. Other provincial capitals had been Baler (now in Aurora), Bongabon, and Cabanatuan. On June 19,1965, Republic Act No. 4475 created the city of Palayan as the new capital.

How to get there

From Manila via NLEX, take Sta. Rita exit then just follow the route that will lead to Pulilan, Plaridel, Baliuag, San Ildefonso, and San Miguel and Gapan to Cabanatuan.

Nueva Ecija is services by bus companies on EDSA, Cubao, Quezon City e.g. Baliwag Transit, Five Star Transit, et al with signboards Cabanatuan, Santiago and Tuguegarao.
One can also opt to go via McArthur Highway passing through Caloocan, Valenzuela, Meycauayan, Marilao, Bocaue, Balagtas, Guiguinto (Tabang), San Miguel Cabiao, San Isidro, then finally Gapan to Cabanatuan.

Tourist Attractions

Ecotourism Destinations

Minalungao National Park
General Tinio, Nueva Ecija
The site features the breathtaking view of narrow deep river that looks up to 16- meter high limestone walls. At the end of white rock formation, is an enchanting cave that is perfect for trekking activities.

Gabaldon Falls
Sabani Estate, Gabaldon, Nueva Ecija
The waterfalls are surrounded by green foliage and huge rocks. The bursting sound of its cool and refreshing waterbreaks the serenity of its environ. The place is perfect for group picnics and adventure.

Binbin Falls
Barangay Binbin, Carranglan, Nueva Ecija
The site has three waterfalls that are surrounded by virgin vegetation. Going there is already an adventure, because, the site is located amidst cultivated vegetable farms and forested areas.

Pantabangan Dam
Pantabangan, Nueva Ecija
The serene blue-sky glimpses the 1.61 kilometer long dam enveloped by the picturesque view of Sierra Madre Mountains. The dam\\\\\'s clear water with an average yearly in the sanctuary of tropical marine life and an inviting site for jetskiing and fishing. Pantabangan offers not only its enormous man-made lake but also its guesthouse, the Best View Hotel and Restaurant. With its Spa and Beauty Cottage Salon, swimming pool, tennis courts and water sports amenities, the tourists and guest enjoy the luxury and beauty of the placid scenery of the dam.

Farm-Tourism Destinations

Maligaya, Science City of Munoz, Nueva Ecija.
Its research programs cover rice varietal improvement, planting and fertilizer management, integrated pest management, rice-based farming systems, rice engineering and mechanization, rice chemistry and food science, social science and policy research and technology transfer.

Located on the 25-hectare site within Central Luzon State University. It helps provide the policy framework on fisheries; extend the support services necessary to make fishery and fishery based enterprises profitable; and formulate plans and undertake studies for the proper management, accelerate development and proper use of the country\\\\\'s fishery and aquatic resources.

BPRE is an attached agency of the Department of Agriculture and located within the CLSU compounds. Its R&D; efforts are geared towards the following areas of concern: wet grain handling; aflatoxin contamination in corn and peanut; pest infestation in storage; facilities development and utilization; policy issues; post harvest entrepreneurship; and training and extension.

Located at Science City of Munoz, Nueva Ecija. The PCC operates as an attached agency of the Department of Agriculture and is mandated to conserve, propagate and promote carabao as a source of draft animal power, meat, milk and hide to benefit the rural farmers. Its program has four major components: strengthening of the gene pool; wide scale upgrading; enterprise development; and research and development.

It started as an Agricultural School in 1907 and has now become a comprehensive university with multiple functions on administration, instruction, research, extension, training and production.

Its main responsibility is aquaculture with tilapia as its major commodity responsibility. Some of FAC breakthroughs in research: 1. Development of a synthetic strain of Genetically Improved Farmed Tilapia; Sex reversal of tilapia; integrated live-stock fish system; mass fingerling production.

Also located in Science City of Munoz, the FVSC is established by the Nueva Ecija Provincial Government with the support of the Department of Agriculture and CLSU to develop quality fruits and vegetable seeds. The center has 10-hectares area for production with pressurized irrigation system green houses, laboratories, conference rooms and modern farm machineries.

Situated in a 9.78 hectare area inside the CLSU campus, PhilSCAT is the first collaborative project between the Republic of the Philippines and the People\\\\\'s Republic of China through their respective departments and ministry. It was envisioned to make the Filipino farmers prosperous through the adoption of modern and appropriate agricultural technologies such as hybrid rice and mechanization jointly developed and evaluated by Filipino and Chinese scientists. PhilSCAT shall provide quality products and services to modernize the rice industry and maximize the benefits for the various stakeholders.

Cultural Destinations

On February 13, 1986, the Three Kings Chruch of Gapan City was declared as the National Shrine of Virgen Divina Pastora.

The miraculous image of Divina Pastora believed to be the protector of the people of Gapan City. Unending stories of miracles of the Virgen Divina Pastora trethened the faith of the people. Hence, every May 1 of each year, people from different town and nearby provinces visit the church to pay homage to the miraculous Divina Pastora.

Diamond Park
Kampo Kuatro, San Jose City
The site features landscaped hills and pagodas. On top of the hill, the panoramic view of Northern part of the province can be seen.

Doña Aurora National Park
Brgy. Labi, Bongabon, Nueva Ecija
Located 100 meters away from the boundary arch of Nueva Ecija and Aurora, the park has ravines and cliffs that are ideal for adventure activities.

Ostrich Farm
Ostrich production in Nueva Ecija is considered the first in Central Luzon. Its farm features ostrich production from breeding to meat production.
Gross Ostrich Farm; Located in San Leonardo, Nueva Ecija
NEPG Ostrish Farm; Located in Boyscout Compound, Palayan City

Mount Olivete religious Sects Community
Bongabon, Nueva Ecija
Climbing a hundred steps of curved stone, one reaches the church built by the Adarnista Spiritual Community on a hilltop. Downhill, the community gathers in a clear, bubbling spring that believed to be medicinal and miraculous. At night, fireflies enchant the evening in the barrio.
Different religious sects live harmoniously in the enchanted community.

Sideco House
San Isidro, Nueva Ecija
The Sideco house was built in the 19th century by Crispulo Sideco. It typifies the houses of the Floral period in the Philippine colonial architecture, where ogee arches, filigreed wooden panels, grilles wrought in curlicues and floral and foliate designs abound in the house as basic structural elements or as ornaments.
It had been the seat of General Emilio Aguinaldo\\\\\'s First Philippine Republic when he established it as his headquarters in San Isidro during the last part of his odyssey from the American forces.


Sta. Arcadia, Cabanatuan City
Tel. No.: (044) 464 7777
Fax No.: (044) 464 7778

Pasong Inchik, Guimba, Nueva Ecija
Tel. No.: (044) 611 0541
Fax No.: (044) 611 0637

Brgy. Sto. Tomas, Peñaranda, Nueva Ecija
Tel. No.: (044) 486 6145
Fax No.: (044) 486 6773


Paulino Bldg., Bonifacio St., F.E.Marcos,
San Jose City
Tel. No.: (044) 511 2779

85 Maharlika Hiway, Rizal, Sta. Rosa
Tel. No.: (044) 940-1366
Fax No.: (044) 311-2106

30A-Afan Salvador St., Sta. Veronica,
Guimba, Nueva Ecija
Tel. No.: (044) 611 0568

Rm. 8, Sam Bldg., Maharlika Highway, Quezon District,
Cabanatuan City
Tel. No.: (044) 464-7579
Telefax No.: (044) 600-5897

408 D. Cerin Bldg.,
Maharlika Highway, Dicarma, Cabanatuan City
Tel. No.: (044) 463 8494 / 463 2918
Fax No.: (044) 463 1363

Chua Bldg., Maharlika Highway,
Zulueta, Cabanatuan City
Tel. No.: (044) 600 5050 / 464 8080
Fax No.: (044) 463 1010


General Description

Steeped in history and blessed with natural and man-made scenery, Pampanga offers several sight-seeing options for visitors. Pampanga has always enjoyed the title \\\\\\\"The Culinary Center of the Philippines\\\\\\\". It is populated by resourceful hardy folk who are justifiably proud of their famous Kapampangan cuisine. The capital, City of San Fernando, is world famous for the annual Lenten re-enactment of the crucifixion of Christ. It is also famous for its Giant Lantern Festival where huge lanterns measuring 20-ft in diameter rise to the occasion to thrill thousands of people with their kaleidoscopic interplay of sounds and colors. The province has remnants of a long and colorful history. It has centuries-old houses, a booming night life center and a myriad of tourist destinations, the site of world-class resorts, casinos, duty-free shopping and golf courses in Clark.

Brief History

Pampanga was already the site of thriving settlements along riverbanks or \\\\\\\"pampang\\\\\\\" before the Spaniards came. The inhabitants were referred to as \\\\\\\"Kapampangans\\\\\\\" or \\\\\\\"the people by the river bank\\\\\\\". Martin de Goiti explored Pampanga and was established in 1571. In 1754, a strip from Dinalupihan to Orion, was ceded to Bataan. In 1848, the province lost five towns to Nueva Ecija and San Miguel to Bulacan. By 1860, its northern district was made into a separate comandancia. This district was made a part of Pangasinan in 1874, and the towns of Mabalacat, Magalang, Porac and Floridablanca were returned to Pampanga. Since the early 20th century, the province has been a hotbed of agrarian troubles, mainly because of its many estates under powerful landlords. During World War II, Pampanga was the base for a guerilla unit known as \\\\\\\"Hukbalahap\\\\\\\" which resisted the Japanese. The huks later formed the nucleus of local communist insurgency after the war, but it was suppressed in the early 1950\\\\\'s. It resurfaced as the New Peoples Army in the 1960\\\\\'s. Pampanga was the home province of Diosdado Macapagal, 9th President of the Philippines, and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, incumbent and 14th President of the Republic.

How to get there

From Manila it is just a 1 hour ride by car or bus to through the North Luzon Expressway exiting via San Fernando, Angeles or Dau Toll Plaza.

Tourist Attractions


Juan D. Nepomuceno Center for Kapampangan Studies
Angeles City
Houses a research center, museum gallery, and theatre that provide access to materials on Kapampangan culture and history.

Old Pamintuan Residence
Angeles City
Venue of the first and only celebration of the First Anniversary of Philippine Independence. Also served as the seat of the short-lived Philippine republic.

Holy Rosary Parish Church
Angeles City
Constructed from 1877 to 1896 by the townspeople of Angeles, including not only the landed families but the small farmers and tenants. It was used as a military hospital by the US Army from 1899 to 1900.

Founder’s House
Angeles City
Located along Sto. Rosario Street in the old section of Angeles is the oldest structure and best-preserved ancestral house in the city. The house was built in 1824 by Don Angel using materials salvaged from his older house built in 1811.

Angeles City
Located along Sto. Rosario Street, it was built sometime in the 1800s to serve as the depository of costly silver-gilt floats that were used the town’s several religious processions.

Bale Herencia
Angeles City
Located at the corner of Lakandula and Sto. Rosario Streets, it was built in 1860 by carpenters coming from Vigan, Ilocos Sur.

Angeles City
A restored grain storehouse nestled between the two oldest houses in Angeles along Sto. Rosario Street. Built in 1840 by Don Ciriaco de Miranda, the first gobernadorcillo of Angeles.

Nepomuceno Ancestral House
Angeles City
Located along Sto. Rosario Street, it was the home of Don Ciriaco de Miranda. Built in 1840, it was inherited in 1868 by Don Ciriaco’s niece, Dona Agustina Henson de Nepomuceno.

Museo ning Angeles
Angeles City
A center for the rich cultural history of Angeles City. Periodically features exhibits on the history, culture, and tradition of Angeles City and its people.

Betis Church
Guagua, Pampanga
One of the oldest churches in Pampanga, built in 1754. The whole structure centers on the classic altar surrounded by religious frescoes. In front of the church is the famous Betis Artesian Well, the oldest well in the province.

Ivory Image of St. Peter’s Shrine (Apalit, Pampanga)
Called “Apung Iru” by the townspeople and venerated the whole year round. In 1844 the image had been transferred to its shrine in Capalangan.

Archdiocesian Museum and Archives
City of San Fernando
Houses antiques and exquisite works of art depicting Pampanga’s rich cultural heritage.
St. Peter’s Parochial Church (Apalit, Pampanga). Built between 1629 and 1630, it is located at the town plaza. Its ceiling and dome are filled with beautiful paintings.

San Luis Gonzaga
San Luis, Pampanga
Its façade can compare immeasurably with existing Spanish-style church edifices and architectural design.

Betis Church
Guagua, Pampanga
One of the oldest churches in Pampanga, built in 1754. Its ceiling and walls are filled with paintings.

Kamikaze East Airfield
Site from where the first Japanese Kamikaze pilots took off for their last mission as human bombs in October 1944.

Marcos Santos Residence
Served as the headquarters of Japanese Kamikaze pilots during the World War II.


Furniture and Woodcarving Industry
Angeles City, Pampanga
Woodcarving and furniture making are two of the oldest professions in Angeles City as its local population has become highly skilled in the art over a hundred years, especially catering to Americans during the Clark Air Base period . A furniture village near Clark Field in Brgy. Cauayan showcases world-class quality furnitures owned by businessman Ruperto Cruz including factories for export-quality rattan and wrought-iron furnitures . Other towns known for this enterprise are the towns of Lubao and Guagua, particularly Betis made famous for its guitar-making industry. In fact Betis artisans are known to have produced the first wooden chandeliers installed in Malacanan Palace.

Marcos Village
Mabalacat, Pampanga
An authentic Ayta village complete with their tribal rituals and customs.

Hilaga Cultural Village
City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Located at the mouth of the San Fernando Toll Exit along the North Luzon Expressway, North Philippines Hilaga (formerly Paskuhan Village) was transformed into a cultural, historical, tourism, trade, and entertainment village by former Secretary Richard J. Gordon in 2003. Its design and concept make it a virtual window to the cultural and historical heritage of the four regions of the North Philippines as well as a showcase for their indigenous products, and arts and crafts. The star-shaped pavilions at the center pays tribute to the skilled lantern makers of San Fernando which produces the biggest lanterns in the world. The complex features a 1,000-seat capacity air-conditioned pavilion for conventions and special events, an open-air ampitheater for outdoor activities, air-conditioned exhibit halls, trade booths, garden restos and an 60-seat capacity conference hall.


Mt. Arayat
A dormant volcano with an area of 3, 715.28 hectares. Legend says it is the home of Mariang Sinukwan, a fairy who protects the mountain’s vegetation and wildlife. At the foot of the mountain is Mt. Arayat National Park, a picnic site with lush foliage, natural waterfalls, two swimming pools, and a countless variety of unique and interesting flora and fauna.

Candaba Swamps
A bird sanctuary and a haven for bird watchers, to which thousands of birds migrate from China to flee the winter.

Candaba Swamp is near the towns of Candaba, San Miguel and San Ildefonso, c.50 km north-north-west of Metro Manila, in Pampanga and Bulacan Provinces, central Luzon. It is a complex of freshwater ponds, swamps and marshes with surrounding areas of seasonally flooded grassland, arable land and palm savanna on a vast alluvial flood plain. The entire area is usually flooded in the wet season, but most of it dries out during the dry season (late November to April) and is converted into rice fields and plantations of watermelons. The main area for waterfowl is an impoundment of about 300 ha, with a mixture of open shallow water, small islands, and rafts of floating vegetation, adjacent to the Pampanga River about nine kilometers north of Baliuag. However, this area is now drained earlier in the year than in the past, and it no longer attracts many waterfowl. The isolated Mt Arayat, which rises to 1,023 m and has disturbed lowland forest on its slopes, is adjacent to Candaba Marsh but is not included in the IBA. Most of the flood plain has been converted to privately owned agricultural and residential land except for the core area of approximately 500 ha. The impoundment is used as a fishpond during the rainy season, and then drained in January or February to be used for agriculture. Candaba Swamp acts as a natural flood retention basin holding wet season overflow from the Maasim, San Miguel, Garlang, Bulu and Penaranda Rivers, and draining into the Pampanga River. The swamp was a traditional waterfowl hunting area in the past, and some hunting of ducks and rails, although now illegal, still occurs. It is also a favourite spot for local and visiting bird watchers and naturalists, and possibly has some potential for nature oriented outdoor recreation and conservation education as there are few other places so close to the metropolitan area of Manila that support as much wildlife.

The Bird Sanctuary of Candaba is a paradise waiting to be discovered hopefully by bird watchers and not by bird hunters. Migratory egrets and indigenous birds like the rare salaksak and batala can be observed especially during dry months when the fishponds turn to rice fields - when large numbers of egrets descend on shallow pools teeming with snails and small fish. The best time to visit the swamp is from October to January when these wintering birds make Candaba their home during harsh temperatures.


San Guillermo Parish Church
Bacolor, Pampanga
One of Pampanga’s oldest churches. It features fascinating works of architecture, such as its classic altar in antique carved design and décor blending with religious frescos reminiscent of neoclassical works of European art.

Holy Rosary Cathedral
Angeles City, Pampanga
Located at the intersection of Sto. Rosario and Sto. Entierro Streets, the Holy Rosary Church was constructed from 1877 to 1896 by the townspeople of Angeles by forced labor system known as \\\\\\\"polos y servicios\\\\\\\" imposed by the Spanish colonial government. From 1899 to 1900 the church was used by the US Army as a military hospital. In 1896 - 1898, the backyard of the church became the execution grounds to the Spanish forces in shooting down Filipino rebels and suspects. It has a beautiful transient and measures 70m. long, 20m. wide and 12m. high. The dominant element of façade is the symmetry created by recessed arched windows which are in harmony with the segmented ones.

Apalit Parochial Church
Apalit, Pampanga
Located at the town plaza, it was built in the year 1629 - 1630 and designed in Baroque architecture. The painting on the ceilings and dome are filled with beautiful paintings and are worth studying. The style of the façade is reminiscent of European neo-classic churches. It was rebuilt by Father Antonio Redondo between the years 1876 - 1880. Its towers were finished in 1896 by the Rev. Toribio Fanjul, who purposely made them low to minimize the effects of earthquakes.

San Guillermo Parish Church
Bacolor, Pampanga
It is one of the oldest and largest churches in Pampanga. It was constructed by the Augustinian friars in 1576 on the lot of Don Guillermo Manabat, a rich landlord believed to be the founder of Bacolor. The church was restored by Fr. Manuel Diaz in 1897. The church measured 56m. long, 15m. wide and 12m. high. It has a central nave and an ample and well-lighted transept with windows. The main retablo, side retablos and pulpit are gilded with gold leaf. The richness of the decoration of Bacolor is indicative of the advanced stage of its baroque style. In spite of the 1991 eruption of Mt. Pinatubo which half-buried the church on Oct. 1, 1995, masses are still held every Sunday morning.

Betis Catholic Church
Guagua, Pampanga
The jewel in the crown is the Betis Church (Santiago de Galicia Parish), built in the early 1700s and repaired continually throughout the 1800s. The unadorned exterior does not prepare the visitor for what he\\\\\'s about to witness inside: the main altar (retablo) with ornate carvings and saints peering out of their niches like ancient dolls, and the paintings on the ceiling that attract comparison with the Sistine Chapel. NCCA declared this church a National Treasure, one of only ten churches in the country bestowed that honor. The main attraction is the original ceiling mural done by the famous painter Simon Flores (1839-1904). Not to be missed are the original Simon Flores painting of the Holy Family, the artesian well (dug in

Church of Magalang
Magalang, Pampanga
San Bartolome Church - Established by the Augustinians in 1605, it was the scene of the encounter between the followers of Andres Malong led by Melchor de Vera and the Spanish troops in 1660. Moved to San Bartolome in 1734, the church was swept by Parua river in the flood of 1863. It was re-established in Barrio San Pedro on December 13, 1863. The 3-aisle church is made of stone and wood. It is 55m. long, 21m. wide and 7m. high. Interplay of arches, as seen on the main entrance, doors and niches, pediments and fenestrations, including those of the bellowers and adjacent convent suggest a touch of baroque.

Minalin Church
The Minalin Church (Sta. Monica Parish), located on the town\\\\\'s highest ground called burul (the town had moved to its present site due to flooding, hence \\\\\'minalis,\\\\\' later corrupted to minalin) but despite its elevation, silt from the river has already invaded its beautiful church. The peeled palitada reveals the original red brick walls, giving the church its unique old-rose touches. The ancient mural paintings in the adjoining convent, one of which is a primitive-looking map with details of trees, ducks, crows, a boat, a hunter and a crocodile. A detail not to be missed are the corbels and beams in the convent and high up in the church\\\\\'s ceiling, with carvings that some say depict pre-Hispanic pagan deities like naga (serpent), dapu (crocodile) and galura (eagle), but Siuala ding Meangubie believes they depict only one creature, bulig (mudfish).

Metropolitan Cathedral of San Fernando
(City of San Fernando) – The present church may have been built by the end of the 18th century, constructed most probably by Fr. Sebastian Moreno, its parish priest in 1756, and was restored in 1808. The church measures 70m. long, 13m. wide and 11m. high. The round majestic dome rising from the rotanda of the transept is reminiscent of the baroque style with some renaissance touch. It is the seat of the Archdiocese of the City of San Fernando, Pampanga. President Emilio F. Aguinaldo and his cabinet viewed the Phillippine Revolutionary Army from the windows of the convento on October 9, 1898. The church and the convento were burned by the Philippine Revolutionary Army on orders of Gen. Antonio Luna on May 4, 1899. It was again destroyed by fire in 1939, and later restored by Architect Fernando H. Ocampo.

Pampanga Agricultural College
Magalang, Pampanga
Located at the foot of Mt. Arayat, this state-owned college is the center for agri-based education in the province. It has model farms, housing facilities for its faculty, conference pavilion and a swimming pool for local residents. Its pristine natural environment make way for a relaxing and rejuvenating experience. Among the activities that may be launched here is a mountain trekking adventure to the heights of Mt. Arayat or a refreshing dip in a natural spring resort close by.

Accredited Establishments

Don Juico Ave., Malabanias Road,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 2222 / 625 6256
Fax No.: (045) 892 5375

Hill St., Dau, Mabalacat
Tel. No.: (045) 6240424 / 624 0502
Fax No.: (045) 892 4971
Century Complex, Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 888 1666
Fax No.: (045) 892 4615

#620 Don Juico Ave., Clarkview, Balibago,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 322 3424 / 322 2267
Fax No.: (045) 625 6887

1418 Federico St., Sta. Maria Subd.,
Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 323 6177 / 323 6178
Fax No.: (045) 892 3609

San Agustin, City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 860 6060 / 860 1234
Fax No.: (045) 961 5358 / 961 7169

Embassy Court, Malabanias Road, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 6666 / 892 6641
Fax No.: (045) 892 6001

511 Tamarind St., Clarkview, Malabanias,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 322 7984
Fax No.: (045) 892 6256

Volga St., Riverside Subd., Anunas,
Angeles City
Tel. NO.: (045) 625 6911 / 625 6912
Fax No.: (045) 893 2740

#664 Fields Ave., Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 3392 / 892 3393
Fax No.: (045) 892 3391

Macabebe, Bacolor, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 961 7000
Fax No.: (045) 961 7003 / 961 0325

Don Juico Ave., Malabanias Road, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 3947
Fax No.: (045) 625 3947 loc 132

Diamond Subd., Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 5089 / 322 2002
Fax No.: (045) 892 2989

954 Rizal cor. Plaridel St., Malabanias,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 7845 / 892 6634
Fax No.: (045) 892 2989

146 Narciso St., Josefa Subd., Malabanias,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 323 5202 / 323 5203

9-FIVE-O Condotel
#950 Fields Avenue, Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892-0100 / 625-6045

Clarkview Comp., Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 893 3301 / 625 8301
Fax No.: (045) 322 3164 / 625 8306

1888 Vian St., cor. Rovimar St., Balibago,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 6494 / 322 1265
Fax No.: (045) 892 5293

810 Malabanias Road, Clarkview,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 888 2195 / 888 2196
Fax No.: (045) 892 5293

B172 Lot 21&22, Don Juico Ave., Malabanias,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 459 8888
Fax No.: (045) 459 0353

#303 Malabanias Road, Plaridel I,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 2585
Fax No.: (045) 892 2878

1934 Sampaguita St., Clarkview,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 6269 / 892 7383

Km 73.7 Sindalan, City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 961 5387
Fax No.: (045) 961 7808

Km 87 McArthur Highway,
Dau, Mabalacat, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 892 1002 / 892 1004
Fax No.: (045) 332 3311

GSO Road, San Pablo, Mexico, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 875 2695
Fax No.: (045) 875 2512

Travel Agencies

Greenville Subdivision, City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 961 8882

Stall 44 Bayanihan Park, Fields Ave.,
Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.; (045) 892 5407
Fax No.: (045) 625 6357

McArthur Highway, Telabastagan,
City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 636 6472
Fax No.: (045) 636 6312

G/F Horizon Hill Hotel cor. Plaridel St.,
Malabanias Road, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 3534
Fax No.: (045) 892 5318

805 Don Juico Ave., Clarkview, Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 888 2175 / 322 5929
Fax No.: (045) 322 0801

125-A Teodoro St., Sta. Maria I, Balibago, Angeles City
Telefax No.: (045) 321 0637

Unit 2 Sevilla Bldg., McArthur Highway,
Dolores, City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 861 2020 / 961 2020
Fax No.: (045) 963 2209

Adela Bldg., McArthur Highway, Dau,
Mabalacat, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 892 3866 / 624 0541
Fax No.: (045) 624 0107

Clarkton Hotel, 620 Don Juico Ave.,
Clarkview, Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 893 2216
Fax No.: (045) 893 2498

Cruz Bldg., Don Juico Ave., Villa Sol Subd.,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 6608
Fax No.: (045) 893 1443

Unit 3 Calsa Arcade 2, Olongapo-Gapan Road,
City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 963 1348
Fax No.: (045) 963 2286

Stall 91, Bayanihan Park,
Fields Ave., Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 6055

530-B JAV Bldg., McArthur Highway,
Lourdes Sur East, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 322 5907 / 887 1405
Fax No.: (045) 626 1887

5040 Kalayaan St., Bagong Bayan, Cutcut, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 887 5367

Rm 201 JMS BLDG., Mc Arthur Highway,
Salapungan, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 887 0332 / 322 8961
Fax No.: (045) 887 0334

103 Fields Avenue, Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 0962
Fax No.: (045) 323 6406

Unit 3 GF, S&E; Bldg., McArthur Highway cor. Surla St.,
Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 7822

2nd Floor, Rm 4, Mendoza Bldg., McArthur Highway,
Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 0648
Fax No.: (045) 322 1786

#18 San Nicolas, Betis, Guagua, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 900 2606
Fax NO.: (045) 900 2987

Stall 90, Fiels Ave., Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 0910
Fax No.: (045) 625 6344

Rm 6, 1/F Plaza Romana, McArthur Highway,
Dau, Mabalacat, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 892 6328
Fax No.: (045) 331 1356

Olongapo Gapan Road, Intersection, Dolores,
City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 961 8193
Fax No.; (045) 961 8190

2nd Floor, R.L. Cruz Bldg., Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 7665
Fax No.: (045) 323 6725

2370 Sto. Entierro St., Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 322 3341
Fax No.: (045) 888 3927

C 15-12 Richtoffen St., Hensonville, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 0968
Fax No.: (045) 459 0363

2-E Rongui Bldg., #01 McArthur Highway,
City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 888 4253
TeleFax No.: (045) 636 6522

188C Friendship Highway, Anunas, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 6729
Fax No.: (045) 893 0882

2/F Clark Haus Bldg., Bayanihan Park,
M.A. Roxas, Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 6203
Fax No.: (045) 625 6208

194 Stall B, Friendship Highway,
Anunas, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 6820
Fax No.: (045) 322 0980

Intersection, McArthur Highway,
City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 861 4037
Fax No.: (045) 963 1885

A1 Sandra Mall, Rizal Ext., Sto. Rosario, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 889 7337

1A Plaza Romana Bldg., Dau,
Mabalacat, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 624 0433
TeleFax No.: (045) 331 2894

RM E1 JEV Bldg., McArthur Highway,
Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 5548
Fax No.: (045) 625 5549

303 Malabanias Roas, Plaridel I,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 889 8742
Fax No.: (045) 894 6556

1st Level Robinsons Starmill, San Jose,
City San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 875 2112 / 636 3624
Fax No.: (045) 875 2113

Stall # 14 Philhealth Bldg., Lazatin Blvd.,
City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 963 6336
Fax No.: (045) 860 1455

Level 2 Robinsons Starmills, San Jose,
City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 875 2342
Fax No.: (045) 636 3592

303 Malabanias Road, Plaridel I,
Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 1697 / 892 2585
Fax No.: (045) 892 2878

Wild Orchid Hotel, A. Santos St.,
Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 6396
Fax No.: (045) 625 6397

Transport Operators

Unit 7, Clemartine Bldg., Cor Pear St., Richtofen,
Hensonville, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 3210242
Fax NO.: (045) 321 0243

802-9 Malabanias Road, Malabanias, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 2195 / (02) 825 1993
Fax No.: (02) 826 4494

Nayong Pilipino Complex, Parking B,
NAIA Terminal 1
Tel. No.: (02) 832 1779

22-28 4th St., Villa Sol Subd. Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 893 0640

Central Luzon Sales Manual


General Description

Tarlac is the most multicultural of the Central Luzon provinces. A mixture of four distinct groups - the Pampangos, Ilocanos, Pangasinenses and Tagalogs - share this province and living together resulted in offering to the visitors the best cuisine of the places where their ancestors had come from, namely Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Zambales, Pangasinan and the Ilocos Region. Tarlac is also best known for its fine foods and vast sugar and rice plantations. That it has fine cooking to offer is largely due to the fact that it is the melting pot of Central Luzon. Its myriad of historical sites, fine foods, vast sugar and rice plantations, and a beautifully landscaped golf course plus so many other attractions all make the province of Tarlac one of the best places to visit in Central Luzon.

Brief History
Originally, Tarlac was a part of the provinces of Pangasinan and Pampanga. It was the last Central Luzon province to be organized under Spanish regime in 1874. During the Philippine Revolution of 1896, Tarlac was one of the first eight provinces to rise in arms against Spain. It then became a seat of the first Philippine Republic in March 1899 when Emilio Aguinaldo abandoned Malolos, Bulacan, then the capital. It only lasted for a month, though, as the seat was moved to Nueva Ecija in Aguinaldo's attempt to elude the pursuing Americans. On October 23, 1899, Gregorio Aglipay, military vicar general of the Revolutionary Forces, called the Filipino clergy to a conference in Paniqui. There, they drafted the Constitution of the Philippine Independent Church. They called for the Filipinization of the clergy, which eventually led to a schism in the Roman Catholic Chuch in the Philippines. Tarlac was captured by American forces in November 1899. A civil government was established in the province in 1901. During World War II, Camp O' Donnell in Capas became the terminal point of the infamous \"Death March\", involving Filipino and American soldiers who surrendered in Bataan on April 9, 1942. The Camp was so overcrowded that many allied prisoners who survived the gruelling march died here of hunger and disease. In the early 1950s, Tarlac was the hotbed of the Huks, a local communist movement. It was suppressed later only to resurface again in 1965. Tarlac is the home province of former President Corazon C. Aquino and her husband, Benigno, whose assassination at the Manila International Airport in 1983 started the protest movement against the Marcos dictatorship, which culminated in the EDSA Revolution of 1986.

How to get there
All buses from Manila going to the Ilocos region and Baguio pass through Tarlac. Most of these buses make rest stops along the highway at the town's many restaurants. Philippine Rabbit in Manila has buses that leave for Tarlac every 10 to 30 minutes. For fast and convenient travel, take the North Luzon Expressway from Manila; exit NLEX spur road past the Dau Toll Plaza to take the Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway all the way to Tarlac City.

Capas National Shrine
Capas, Tarlac
The shrine was the first prison camp for the men who survived the \"Death March\" in the hands of the Japanese during the last world war in 1942. The Camp O' Donnell Memorial Monument was built by the organization known as \"The Battling Bastards of Bataan\" to honor those American men who died at Camp O'Donnell, while prisoners of the Japanese. The Cement Cross is a replica of the original cement cross built by the POWs. The monument is located in the Capas National Shrine, in Capas, Tarlac, Philippines,adjacent to the memorial for the Philippine Army dead. The \"Cross\" was built as a memorial to the thousands who died in that camp. It is as much a part of Bataan as the participants in that battle. The inscription on the base of the \"Cross\" reads \"Omnia Pro Patria\": All For Country. On the wall behind the \"Cross\" are inscribed the names of the men who died at Camp O'Donnell. The original \"Cement Cross\" is now on display in the National Prisoner of War Museum, at the Andersonville National Historic Site, Andersonville, GA. It was brought to this country by Bataan survivors. For further information, visit
Diwa ng Tarlak
Tarlac City, Tarlac
A civic and convention center built during the time of Gov. Federico Peralta, it houses a convention hall, ballroom, trade exhibit hall and dining facilities. It is a favorite venue for special functions such as seminars and conferences.

Sto. Domingo Death March Marker
Capas, Tarlac
The site where about 60,000 Filipino and American prisoners of war cramped like sardines in closed box-cars were loaded to start the second phase of the tragic Death March. There were already more than 30,000 of these defenders of democracy and freedom who perished from the inhuman treatment they were subjected to during the trip from Abucay and Mariveles, Bataan to San Fernando, Pampanga. The survivors started their tortuous journey here to Camp O' Donnel.
Bamban Park
Bamban, Tarlac
The park was carved along the hilly area near the national highway in Tarlac and is quite visible from the road with its imposing grotto of Virgin Mary pedestalled on a hill. One has to hurdle a 100-step stairway before reaching the grotto. The area is characterized by stretches of roadside mini-restaurants and bonsai farms - all catering to commuters bound for the north. People visit the place to pay homage to the Blessed Mother or do mountain trekking on the side.

Camp General Servillano Aquino
Tarlac City, Tarlac
Formerly called Camp Ord, named after Lt. Col. James Ord, the place is now the home of the 5th Infantry Division of the Philippine Army. The complex was donated on September 30, 1940 by the Campania General Tabacos de Filipinas to the Commonwealth of the Philippines and was accepted on October 11, 1940, in behalf of the donee, Jorge D. Vargas, the then Secretary to the President. Adding to the historical significance of the place is the Eisenhower tree planted on July 4, 1939 by Lt. Col. Dwight D. Eisenhower, Chief of Staff of Marshall Douglas MacArthur, the military adviser of the Philippine Commonwealth.

Central Azucarera de Tarlac
Tarlac City
The City of Tarlac takes pride in having a large sugar mill called Central Azucarera de Tarlac. This sugar mill helps boost the economy of the province. Special educational tours may be arranged thru their Industrial Relations Office at Tel. No. (63 45) 985-1995 Attn: Angelito Bautista (Industrial Relations Manager) .

Hacienda Luisita
Tarlac City, Tarlac
The Cojuangco-owned hacienda in Tarlac City houses the famous Tarlac Industrial Park where a growing lists of international export producing companies are located. It boasts of an 18-hole championship golf course, shopping malls, world-class restaurants, hotels, a Beverly Hill - type of residential estate and a vast sugar plantation. Also located in the complex is the Aquino Center and Museum.

Mt. Pinatubo Wellness Spa
Brgy. Sta. Juliana, Capas
A fascinating oasis amidst a picturesque pastoral environment framed by rolling hills and mountain ranges, this new product in health tourism offers a first-of-a-kind model in fitness therapy and wellbeing: from a relaxing body wrap on sulfur-laden hot volcanic sand, to a revitalizing dip in a thermal bath and foot spa, and finally to a soothing Shiatzu body work in a 100-pax capacity massage parlor - all made possible after a day's sweltering trek to Mt. Pinatubo. The wellness center also serves Korean/native cuisine cum grillery in a 200-seat capacity open-air restaurant plus a souvenir shop and soda fountain serving health products to the intrepid explorer.
PINATUBO TREK: Trek to the crater of the world-famous Mt. Pinatubo. Spectacular views, towering lahar canyons, cool mountain springs and cascading waterfalls make that trip up the volcano an experience to remember. Drive on board an all-weather vehicle for one hour, disembark and trek for maximum of two hours to the crater, view the tranquil yet majestic 2.5-km crater-lake. Or bathe yourself in any of the six sulfur-filled thermal pools at Sitio Tarukan. Cap your day with a generous fishing expedition at Tambo Lake before proceeding to the wellness spa.
HOW TO GET THERE: From Manila drive towards the North Luzon Expressway to Sta. Ines toll plaza in Mabalacat, Pampanga. Take the MacArthur Hwy towards north up to Capas, Tarlac. From the Capas town market, turn left to Brgy Sto. Rosario and follow a 22-km backcountry road to your final destination in Brgy. Sta. Juliana. PINATUBO TREK CUM SPA (all in one package) Rates: US$ 25/pax (includes 4 x 4 ride, trek to the crater or dip in hot sulphur spring pools in Tarukan, foot spa, thermal bath and lunch); additional US$ 10 (hot sand bath) and US$ 10 (Shiatzu massage) or a total of US$45-50 per person (all inclusive). Rates are subject to change without prior notice.
Accreditation Not accredited
For information on Pinatubo Wellness Spa,
Contact Information: Capas Tourism Office, Tel. No. (63 45) 925-0154/925-0112 loc 109 (Tourism) loc 124 (Office of the Mayor) or Telefax (63 45) 925-0408 (Direct Line to Office of the Mayor) Attn: Marissa Vidal (Capas Municipal Tourism Officer) Mobile 0918-285-3019 or emial: [email protected]

For renting all-weather vehicle, call Edwin Manalang (Angeles City), Mobile No. 0910-722-7575 or Jude Lenon (Sta. Juliana), Mobile No. 0920-803-5647/0920-576-2769 or call Wendell Mercado (Sta. Juliana), Mobile No. 0919-608-4313 or 0921-587-6291.

For information on P.D.C. Spa Town (Pull Travel Destination Corp.), call Tel. No. (63 45) 615-0454 (Admin office) or Website: Also call Alejo Marquez, mobile 0910-980-7609 and Lydia de Guzman, mobile 0909-759-1300 for details.

Magsaysay Dam
Mayantok, Tarlac
This dam, named after the late Pres. Ramon Magsaysay, boasts of crystal-clear water from the mountain and a scenic view of surrounding areas.

Plaza Luisita Center
Tarlac City, Tarlac
A modern and masterfully designed commercial and business complex for shopping malls, offices, retail shops, food establishments and recreational centers. It houses such retail food outlets like Max's Restaurant, McDonald's, Jollibee, etc.

San Bartolome Treehouse
Mayantok, Tarlac
Located in Brgy. San Bartolome, this treehouse, constructed through the initiative of the barangay council in 1973, is one of the most interesting attractions in the province.

Tarlac Provincial Capitol & Park
Tarlac City, Tarlac
An imposing landmark in the province is the seat of the provincial government. Constructed atop a hill, the capitol sets a commanding view of the town of Tarlac and its environs. Giving more grandeur and beauty to the place is the Maria Cristina Park - fittingly named after a Tarlac beauty queen, Maria Cristina Galang, the 1952 Miss Philippines.

Voice of America -Tarlac
Concepcion, Tarlac
This radio transmitting facility was used by the Voice of America, the International Broadcasting Service and the U.S. Information Agency in communicating to the world for over 30 years. Special educational tours may be arranged thru their Admin Office at Tel. No. (63 45) 982-0254/0255 Fax No. (63 45) 982-1402 Attn: Mr. Terry Donafan (Station Manager) or Ms. Jovy Soliman (Secretary).

Ylang Ylang Oil
Anao, Tarlac
The transformation of Anao into \"Ylangylang Country\" began in 1989 when the local government initiated the establishment of plantations of the cash crop to augment the people's meager income from rice and corn, through the Rural Industrialization Can Happen (RICH) Program of the provincial government, then headed by Gov. Mariano Un Ocampo III. The DOST then prepared a project proposal entitled \"Establishment of a Village-based Essential Oil Extraction Industry\" which they presented to then Pres. Corazon C. Aquino.

In no time, the residents had been planting seedlings in their own backyards and helping care for the trees that the government had planted in public orchards. Initially, 10,000 seedlings were planted along the roads of the entire town. They harvested the first mature blooms five years later. Anao Ylang Ylang Primary Cooperative was organized in 1998 which served as the core gorup in the overall implementation of the ylangylang livelihood program.

To ensure the sustainability and ownership of the Program, the Sangguniang Bayan enacted several municipal ordinances. Among them are the prohibition and penalizing the indiscriminate cutting of trees along roads and other government-owned areas; the guaranteeing of ownership of ylangylang planted along roads; requiring all applicants of a municipal permit or license or clearance to purchase and plant ylangylang and adopting \"Aroma Anao\" as the trademark/brand name of the ylangylang products in the municipality, as registered with the Intellectual Property Office.

The present administration is very diligent in looking for possible marketing strategies for the \"Aroma Anao\" products and viable agricultural lots for growing ylang-ylang seedlings. Source:

Aquino Center
Tarlac City, Tarlac
The Aquino Museum, located within the Aquino Center, houses a collection of photographs and memorabilia from Senator Benigno \"Ninoy\" Aquino's early political career, his imprisonment during martial law, his death. The second half of the museum is dedicated to the remembrance of the events that followed Ninoy's death: peaceful mass action, his widow's response, People Power and the Aquino Presidency. BOOKING: Prior arrangement is required for groups of more than 30 pax ENTRANCE: Adults - P50 Student - P20 Public schools - FREE SCHEDULE: Open on Wednesdays to Sundays at 10 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Closed on Mondays to Tuesdays CONTACT: (63 45) 985-1770/0968 (c/o Microtel Inn & Suites)

Leonor Rivera Museum
Camiling, Tarlac
This houses personal articles and furnitures owned by Rivera, and letters written by Dr. Jose Rizal for Leonor Rivera whom the national hero immortalized in his novels as Maria Clara.


Anao Quinabutok Creek
Anao, Tarlac,
Rich in aquatic resources, picnickers, excursionists usually visit the place for fishing and swimming

Bueno Hot Spring
Capas, Tarlac
Located in Sitio Danum Mapali, Brgy Bueno, the natural hot spring is impounded in two concrete pools - about 2 to 3 feet in height. One pool has a temperature of 45 degrees centigrade and neutral pH level of 5.5. Its flow rate was recorded at 1/2 gal/min. The other pool has a temperature of 49.5 degrees centigrade with pH level at 5.5. The place may be reached through the Capas-Botolan Road. A perfect haven for local excursionists.

Dolores Spring Well
Tarlac City, Tarlac
Some seven kms. from Tarlac town, this spring is a favorite spot among local excursionists. The spring water is said to be medicinal. An imposing grotto of the image of the Virgin de Lorosa marks the religious character of this natural wonder.

Mt. Pinatubo Trek and Spa Town
Sta. Juliana, Capas, Tarlac
What to See: Spectacular views, towering lahar canyons, thermal springs, cool mountain springs and cascading waterfalls along O' Donnell streambed. Drive on board an all-weather vehicle for one hour, disembark in Sitio Dapili and trek for maximum of two hours to the crater, view the tranquil yet majestic 2.5-km crater-lake located in Botolan, Zambales which is 30 kms away from Sta. Juliana. Or optionally bathe yourself in any of the six sulfur-filled thermal pools at Sitio Tarukan. Cap your day with a generous fishing expedition at Tambo Lake before proceeding to the Korean-owned wellness spa.

What to bring: Whether traveling on a day trip or overnight, always bring with you your backpack. For a day tour, bring extra shirt, three liters of water or health juice, a pair of sturdy walking shoes plus strapped sandals, light meal and a pair of strong legs. For overnight guests, bring your own tent, sleeping bag, a warm jacket, cooking equipment and a full meal in addition to the above.

All-Weather Transportation: To get to the crater with reduced amount of effort (at least 2 hours of walking), bring or hire a 4 x 4 all-weather vehicle. Members of the Angeles City Four Wheelers Club or a transport group based in Sta. Juliana offers transport service all the way to the campsite close to the volcano. Without these vehicles, you walk some 6-8 hours using conventional vehicle.

How to get there: If you're coming from Manila, take the North Luzon Expressway. Exit Dau toll gate for you to take your rented vehicle (meeting place is usually at the Clark main gate), otherwise straight to Sta. Ines toll gate. From there, take the MacArthur Hwy to Mabalacat enroute to Bamban and Capas in Tarlac towards north. When you reach the marketplace in Capas, take a left turn to Brgy. Sto. Rosario and negotiate the 22-km. countryside road passing along barangays Aranguren, O' Donnell, Sta. Lucia, Patling and finally, the last frontier which is Brgy. Sta. Juliana - the gateway to the crater of Mt. Pinatubo. Travel time from Clark to Sta. Juliana takes about an hour and a half. From there, you'll drive along O' Donnell river for an hour and then trek on foot for two hours up to the crater (and back the same way). Remember to start your day early at 6:00 in the morning for you to be back late afternoon of the same day.

Maamot Hot Spring
San Jose, Tarlac
Located approximately 10 kms from the Capas-Botolan Road, Maamot Hot Spring has a temperature of 45 degrees centigrade and pH level at 6. The place is located at the river bank of Moriones river. The property is owned by the municipal government of San Jose. One has to cross the Moriones river - waist deep - to reach the manifestation site though.

Paradise Island
Concepcion, Tarlac
A half hectare island in the middle of a five-hectare man-made lake in Hacienda Tinang


Central Techno Park
Hacienda Luisita, Tarlac City, Tarlac
Light to medium, environmentally compliant, manufacturing companies (with Fiber Optic Backbone within CTP) Total Land Area: 300 hectares Contact Person: Renato Vargas Tel. No. (63 2) 886-6800/6799 eMail: [email protected]

Luisita Industrial Park
San Miguel, Tarlac City, Tarlac
Light to medium industries Total Land Area: 140 hectares Managed by: Propoerty management Group/ Luisita Realty Corp. Contact Person: Leo Sison Tel. No. (63 45) 985-0213/1124 eMail: [email protected]

Maria Cristina Park
Tarlac City, Tarlac
Located near the provincial capitol, named after Maria Cristina Galang, who was crowned Miss Philippines in 1952.

Tarlac Ecotourism Park
Brgy. Lubigan, San Jose, Tarlac
In the early months of 2001 under the leadership of Governor Jose \"Aping\" Yap, a project was launched to find a place in the province where people and nature can co-exist in harmony with each other. Soon after, a 278-ha forested land that would eventually serve as a sanctuary for environment and nature lovers was established.

Located at an altitude of 308 meters above sea level, 30 kilometres from Tarlac City, the said place boasts of perfect climatic condition with natural ecosystem for plants, disterocarp trees, convenient habitat for native and migratory birds and wild animals. The place is a perfect place for camping holidays.

On April 12, 2004, President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo issued Proclamation No. 602 officially declaring the Tarlac Ecotourism Park as \"Ecotourism Park and campsite.\" Vic Yap, in-charge of Special Projects Office, facilitated the construction of concrete roads, electricity, water system, eco-park buildings and other amenities for the campsite. For further information, please contact: Provincial Government of Tarlac, Tel. No. (63 45) 982-7841 - 42 or Department of Trade and Industry (Tarlac), Tel. No. (63 45) 800-1450


Monasterio de Tarlac/Relic of the True Cross
Brgy. Lubigan, San Jose, Tarlac
The Monasterio de Tarlac was established in 2003 as the hermitage house for five (5) monks of the Priory of the Servants of the Risen Christ (SRC), a congregation of monastic brothers (more appropriately addressed as Frater) led by its Prior, Frater Ronald Thomas Cortez, SRC or Fr. Archie to his friends. The congregation has a total population of thirty (30) Fraters all over the country as of 2007 - all destined to a life of monasticism and contemplative life. The rather solitary and prayerful life in the monastery took an unexpected turn when it became the fitting shrine of the authentic relic or fragment of the True Cross upon which Jesus Christ was crucified and died in Golgotha, according to Christian tradition.

The historic moment came in 2005 during the World Youth Day in Cologne, Germany when Msgr. Volker Bauer of the Diocese of Essen, Germany offered to turn over to Prior, Fr. Archie, the Sacred Wood since the monastic life was slowly fading in Europe. On January 30, 2007, the Silver Reliquary containing portion of the Cross was flown in by Msgr. Bauer in the Church of the Risen Christ at the monastery in San Jose, Tarlac where its dedication was officiated by His Excellency Most Rev. Fernando Filoni, D.D., Apostolic Nuncio to the Philippines, together with Tarlac Bishop Florentino F. Cinense, and a host of other clergy.

This particle of the True Cross was originally located in a church in Germany until the advent of communism which outlawed the practice of Christian faith thus giving way to Catholic churches being converted into museums and warehouses. Many of these pieces of the Wooden Cross were kept in secret places by Christians of old only to be distributed in later years to churches around the world. The reliquary is known to be the only one in the entire continent of Asia.

To accommodate the growing hordes of devotees to the shrine in Tarlac, the Prior decided to celebrate the Holy Mass daily (except Thursday) at 10:00 in the morning after which the faithful is allowed to the reliquary to pay their homage and be blessed with spirituality.

Twice a year, the silver-guilt reliquary is laid open for public viewing on January 30, the date it was enshrined, and on September 14, when the entire Christian community celebrates the anniversary of the dedication of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem and for which the Vatican officially named the day in 1963 as the Feast of the Triumph of the Cross. Atop the imposing altar is the inscription in Latin: Ave, Crux, Spes, Unica which means Hail, the Holy Cross, Our Only Hope. It is traditionally believed that more healing takes place during these dates.

The sprawling monastery with dormitory and viewing decks offers a commanding view of the mountainous terrain of the towns of Tarlac nearby and the imposing 30-ft. Statue of the Risen Christ. The priory is open to the conduct of spiritual renewals such as retreats and recollections for both students and adults. The fraters would be happy to conduct one for individuals or groups.

The veneration of the True Cross finds its origin in the legend of Helena. According to Christian tradition, when Emperor Constantine granted religious freedom to Christians in the Roman Empire in 313 A.D., his mother, Queen Helena, later in 326 A.D. made pilgrimage to the Holy Land to locate those places sacred to Christians and find the Cross of Jesus. With the help of Christians there, she found many places where Jesus lived, and carried out his ministry. Queen Helena had churches built in many of these sacred sites (e.g., the Tomb of the Holy Sepulchre, the Calvary, the Nativity, etc.). She also found the True Cross, buried under a pagan temple, the nails, and the title that was affixed to the Cross. She is said to have verified the true cross among the three that were unearthed through miracles (a dead girl was restored to life when touched by the True Cross) . She left part of the Cross in Jerusalem, gave part to her son in Constantinople, and took part back to Rome where the Church of the Holy Cross of Jerusalem was built. Pieces of the Cross were venerated as holy relics, and fragments were given as gifts to many churches in Europe. Sixteen centuries later in 2007, a fragment of the True Cross found its place in the Church of the Risen Christ in a peaceful and quiet Monasterio de Tarlac.

How to Get There
From Manila, take the North Luzon Expressway, exit Sta. Ines Toll Plaza in Mabalacat, Pampanga. Proceed towards north to Tarlac City. Upon reaching Brgy. San Sebastian (Hon Kee Tea House on your right or Vilmar Restaurant on your left), take a left turn to the bypass road (Tarlac - Pangasinan) towards the town of Camiling. Follow the 36-km backcountry but well-paved road to Brgy. Lubigan in San Jose, Tarlac (turns are well signposted). For fast and convenient travel, take the North Luzon Expressway from Manila; exit NLEX Spur Road between Dau and Sta. Ines exits to take the Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway all the way to Tarlac City.

The monastery is located at the heart of the 278-ha Tarlac Ecotourism Park in Brgy. Lubigan, San Jose, Tarlac.


Camiling Church
Camiling, Tarlac
The site of the execution of General Pedro Pedroche and his men (who were charged with rebellion) by Francisco Makabulos and his revolutionary troops.

San Sebastian Church
Tarlac City, Tarlac
Located in front of the Municipal Hall, the church was the site of the revolutionary congress. The demolished Tarlac Catholic convent had become the highest Filipino seat of learning when the Literario-Sientifico Universidad of Malolos, Bulacan was transferred to Tarlac on March 31, 1889. The first graduation ceremonies on Sept. 29, 1890 were held inside the Catholic Convent premises. Diplomas then were signed by Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo.

St. Rose of Lima Church
Paniqui, Tarlac
Built during the Spanish colonization, and one of the oldest in the country. This structure underwent extensive reconstruction in the early 1970s.

Special Interest

Animal Kingdom Foundation Rescue and Rehabilitation Center (Dog Shelter)
Brgy. Cub-Cub, Capas, Tarlac
The AKF Dog Shelter in a 2.5 ha. haven for the once slaughter-bound Philippine native dogs. It is the largest animal shelter in the country where not only beautiful white beaches, sumptuous dishes and mouth watering fruits are abundant but also cute, wonderful and loving creatures abound. This animal shelter is built for native dogs rescued from the dog-meat trade. Officially commissioned in July 2006, the shelter now (2008) houses more than 300 dogs. It is complete with veterinary medical facilities and other essential amenities necessary for the dogs' welfare. More importantly, it is the only animal shelter in the country with its own Quarantine area. The shelter is accredited by the Bureau of Animal Industry (Department of Agriculture) and now offers an adoption scheme for interested animal-loving individuals. For further details, pls contact Animal Kingdom Foundation, Inc., c/o Dinsay, Vargas and Caguioa Law Office, 11th Floor, Heart Tower, Valero St., Legaspi Village, Makati, Manila. Send donations through bank: Animal Kingdom Foundation, Inc. Saving Account Number: 1046-00836-4, RCBC Savings Bank, Tomas Morato Branch, 169 Tomas Morato cor Scout Castor St., Quezon City, Philippines 1100 or email: [email protected] website:



Hacienda Luisita, San Miguel, Tarlac City
Tel. No.: (045) 611 2053
Fax No.: (045) 611 2051

Hacienda Luisita, San Miguel, Tarlac City
Tel. No.: (045) 985 1770 / 985 1974
Fax No.: (045) 985 1975

Cnels Bldg., Macabulos Drive, Blk. 2 San Roque,
Tarlac City
Tel. No.: (045) 982 2015
Fax No.: (045) 982 2565
Unit 3 Felsenron Bldg., McArthur Highway,
San Roque, Tarlac City
Tel. No.: (045) 982 4025
Fax NO.:(045) 982 4805


McArthur Highway, Estrada, Capas
Tel. No.: (045) 491 2820
Fax NO.:(045) 985 0045

Luisita Center, San Miguel, Tarlac City
Tel. No.: (045) 985 1280

Zambales has been gifted with the natural beauty of its surroundings. It has been touched by civilization yet has maintained its rustic glory and beauty. The Zambales coastline is most famous for its sandy beaches and deep blue sea teeming with coral reefs.

The province is historical. Located here is the ancestral house of the most beloved Philippine President, Ramon Magsaysay, situated at Castillejos. Mt. Pinatubo, world-famous for its 1991 catastrophic eruption, can be found in the vicinity.

Zambales is perfectly suited for visitors seeking an authentic view of the Philippines without going too far from the national capital, Manila. It is located at the western part of Luzon, 210 kilometers or approximately a three-hour drive from Manila.

How to get there

Air-conditioned Victory Liner buses leave Manila for Olongapo City and Iba daily.

How to go to Subic/Zambales via Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway (SCTex)

Motorists coming from NLEX bound for Subic are advised to take the Spur/NLE interchange located between the Dau and Sta. Ines Exits of the NLEX and proceed to the SCTEx Clark Logistics Toll Plaza. After crossing the bridge, follow the loop of the ramp towards Subic. Likewise, motorists at SCTEx bound for Bataan may exit at the Dinalupihan Interchange via the Roman Highway. When in Subic Freeport, take the Kalaklan Gate to proceed to Zambales.

On the other hand, motorists from Subic and Bataan bound for Manila are advised to enter the SCTEx through the Tipo Toll Plaza or the Dinalupihan Toll Plaza respectively, and follow the road signage towards the Clark Logistics Toll Plaza. Upon reaching the Clark Logistics interchange, take the first ramp to the right that will lead to the toll plaza, then the Spur/NLE interchange connecting to the NLEX. The Subic-Clark section measures 50.5 kms. long while the Clark-Tarlac section is 43.27 kms. long or a total of 93.77 kms. Travel time from Clark to Subic is only 40 minutes. From NLEX in Balintawak to Subic, travel time is only 1 ½ hours.
SCTEx HOTLINE: (02) 3-5000/(02) 362-9997/362-2246/(045) 865-2030
Tourism Information

Office of the Governor
2nd Floor Capitol Builing, Iba, Zambales
Telefax: (047) 811-7203

Provincial Tourism & Investment Promotions Office
2nd Floor Capitol Bldg., Iba, Zambales
Tel. No.: (047)811-7216 || Fax No.: (047) 811-7218
Email: [email protected]
Please look for Badith, Thel, Kit, Mariz,

Tourist Attractions

Pamana Island
Subic, Zambales
One of the tourists’ destinations in Subic. Formerly called Sneak Island during the time of Subic naval Base wherein it became the favorite hangout of Americans. The island also home to a resort with first class amenities & accommodation.

Looc Lake
Subic, Zambales
An ideal haven for tourists’ just 26 kms. north of Olongapo. For nature lovers, one can find a cool and serene place where anyone can enjoy fishing ride the so-called “balsa.” It is a quiet place for family hangout, picnics and get together of friends.

Ramon Magsaysay Anchestral House
This house is famous historical landmark in the town of Castillejos. It houses the memorabilia of the most loved president of the Philippines, President Ramon Magsaysay, “The Man of the Masses,” whose greatness in humanity gave pride to the Municipality of Castillejos.

Tikub’s Pond, Pool & Park Resort
San Marcelino, Zambales
A nature designed resort situated just a few minutes away from the town of San Marcelino. It is a great venue for nature lovers and picnic goers.

Casa San Miguel
San Antonio, Zambales
A venue for the annual Pudaqui Arts Festival. A center of chamber music in San Antonio. It is set amid a mango orchard nestled between the mountain and the sea. Casa San Miguel is also known to be Zambales’ own version of Center for Culture an the Arts.

Punta de Uian
San Antonio, Zambales
An exotic, relaxing tropical paradise situated at Barangay Pundaquit in San Antonio. It is also known as a perfect site for television and/or film locations.

Pundaquit Falls
San Antonio, Zambales

Going to this miniature falls is a nice side trip when going to the Capones Islands. It is about 200+ meters south of the river of Pundaquit.

The falls is still \"unfrequented\" by tourists. Only the locals and a few people who love to go off the beaten path actually go to this falls. Indeed, the falls is rarely visited that the trail leading to it oftentimes gets covered with overgrown foliage and one has to blaze his own trail to get there.

Capones Island
San Antonio, Zambales
Capones Island and a couple of other smaller islands (the Camera Islands) lie a few kilometres from the shores of Pundaquit, Zambales. The Camera islands are 2km offshore and Capones is 3 kilometers beyond (5.2 km offshore). Capones and Camera are known for their white beaches, speckled with multi-coloured crushed coral. Clear turquoise waters will leave one spell-bound. High rock cliffs beckon rappellers. Capones is known for an old Spanish-era lighthouse that brings visitors back in time.

There are no resorts or facilities on the island. Tourists usually stay at a resort in Pundaquit, a small fishing village about 3 kms southwest of San Antonio where they can hire a boat to explore Capones Island.

San Antonio, Zambales

Anawangin Cove is a crescent shaped cove with unspoiled white sand beach. The bizarre riddle of tall pine trees flourishing around the vicinity is what makes the place exceptional. There are no roads leading to Anawangin. It is only accessible by a 30 minute boat ride from Pundaquit, San Antonio, Zambales or by a six-hour trek through hot, open trails thru the Pundaquit range. The cove's isolation has kept it free from development. There are no resorts available on this unsoiled piece of natural beauty.

Following the beach is the pine forest and a marsh, where one can find natural springs feeding to the sea. The area is home to a number of bird species.

Crystal Beach Resort
San Narciso, Zambales
One of the resorts in Zambales that offers surfing for beginners and enthusiasts. Great big waves await thrill-seekers and surfers who want to enjoy surfing in Zambales.

Philippine Merchant Marine Academy
San Narciso, Zambales
The PMMA is the premier maritime institution in the Philippines. It is globally known for quality and good performance with standards of management and training comparable only with the best.

Century Old Tree
San Felipe, Zambales
San Felipe is the pride of all Zambaleno’s for bagging the cleanest and greenest town in Central Luzon for 3 consecutive years. A Century Old Tree in Brgy. Maloma adds attraction to this progressive town.

Mango Camp Adventure & Leisure Farm
Cabangan, Zambales
A premier, family private retreat. It is also suitable for corporate tem activities. With its amenities and recreation facilities, this is your idyllic abode to refresh and to take some time off from the daily humdrum of city living. This is the best alternative to world class, yet congested of resorts and beaches.

Botolan Wild Life Farm
Botolan, Zambales
Different kinds of animals such as tiger, deer, snake, ostrich, birds and rare species of plants and orchids can be found here.

Ina Poon Bato
Botolan, Zambales
As Aetas referred it as “Apo Apang.” It is regarded as the oldest image of our blessed mother which has brought about a combined undeniable proof that with this image, the Filipino people has powerful and beloved instrument for real peace among all races.
Iba Beach
Iba, Zambales
A long stretch of pristine beaches can be found in Iba. It is also home to Zambales’ best sunset view and clean beaches.

St. Augustine Cathedral
Iba, Zambales
A church built out of corals and limestone in 1703. It is the bishop’s seat of the province.

Mt. Tapulao
Palauig, Zambales
The highest peak in Central Luzon can be found in Palauig. It is 7,200 feet above sea level and it is colder than Baguio City. Explore different species of flora and fauna that includes bonsai, century old trees, ferns and wild orchids.

Coto kid’s Pool
Masinloc, Zambales
Offers a nature designed swimming pool overflowing with crystal white-cool spring water located near the foot of a forest reserve. Enjoy also the view of the 20-feet Coto’s waterfalls.

Potipot Island
Candelaria, Zambales
One of Candelaria’s main tourist attractions. The island is surrounded with pure white sand coral beaches and it is easily accessible by boat. The fact that you can walk around the whole island in less than 30 minutes makes the place more magical.
Sagrada Familia Cave
Sta. Cruz, Zambales
A church-like cave where you can see the image of the Holy Family with an altar made of stalactites and stalagmites of the cave.
Accommodation Facilities
47 National Highway, Barrio Barretto, Olongapo City
Tel. No.: (047) 224 4557 / 224 4559
Fax No.: (047) 224 4561

1 Lot 4 Halfmoon Beach, Kalaklan
Tel. No.: (047) 222 4987
Fax No.: (047) 222 4918
Baloy Beach, Barangay Barretto, Olongapo City
Tel. No.: (047) 223 7902

Travel Agency
10 Anunas St., West Bajac, Bajac, Olongapo City
Telefax No.: (047) 611-0130

Central Luzon Sales Manual


General Description

About 80 kilometers north of Manila is a former American ird base that has seen some transformation since it was reverted to the Philippine government, a few months after the Mt. Pinatubo Volcano eruption in June 1991. Very much like the phoenix, it rose from the ashes.

The biggest American military installation outside the United States, the former Clark Air Base (now Clark Freeport Zone) in Clark Field, Pampanga occupies an area of 33,653 hectares of flat, rolling rugged and even mountainous terrain. It used to be the home of the US 13th Air Force and 3rd Tactical Fighter Wing whose peacekeeping mission covers the entire Pacific region.

With the expiration of the Republic of the Philippines-US Bases Agreement in November 1991, the former Clark Airbase was reverted to the Philippine Government. It is now being converted into an economic zone that is attracting major manufacturing and exporting companies from around the world.

The most valuable piece of infrastructure that the Philippines inherited from the US Air Force is the 2500 hectare aviation complex now known as the Diosdado Macapagal International Airport which has two 3.2 kilometer parallel runways.

With the new international airport, Clark is envisioned to become an Aerotropolis- an airport-driven development aimed to trigger economic growth in Central and Northeren Luzon through its full utilization as a premiere gateway.
Apart from this, though, the former military air base still memorializes in stone markers and other landmarks the gallantry and heroism of the American and Filipino soldiers during World War II. Some hallowed grounds remain intact. Other markers, relatively new additions, now stand in honor of the Japanese soldiers who died in the war.

At present, Clark is also a center of exciting eco-tourism activity: as a jump off point for trekking to the astounding crater lake of Mt. Pinatubo and to Mount Arayat, a dormant volcano that can be easily scaled. It is also a center for thrilling adventure sports like hot air balloon flying, parachuting, micro light flying and off-road motorcycling.
How to get there
By Land
Clark lies only 80 kilometers north of the City of Manila and 60 kilometers east of Subic Bay, a former US naval facility that has been redeveloped into a major Freeport.
From Manila, take the North Luzon Expressway. Drive up to Dau exit, take a left turn to MacArthur Hwy toward Angeles City. Alternatively, you can take the Angeles-Magalang toll exit to reach the city.

Bus Companies

#816 Aurora Blvd. Cor. P. Bernardo St., Cubao, Quezon City
Tel. No.: (02) 725 7303 / 724 9828

Arrival Terminal, Diosdado Macapagal International Airport
Clark Freeport Zone


371-D, McArthur Highway, Lakandula, Mabalacat
Tel. No.: (045) 892 1312
Fax No.: (045) 892 1311

Unit 1, Oasis Commercial Stall, Don Juico Ave.,
Clarkview, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 625 6771

825-A 1st Street, Balibago, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 892 2195 / (02) 825 1993
Fax No.: (02) 826 4494
22-28, 4th St., Villa Sol Subdivision, Angeles City
Tel. No.: (045) 893 0640

Diosdado Macapagal Airport, Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 892 5971

By Air

A natural entry point to the Asia Pacific Region, Clark is only 3 ½ hours flying time from Hongkong, Taiwan, Singapore, Japan, Korea and other key points in Asia.

International Airlines

A.Bonifacio Dr., Civil Aviation,
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 7051 / 7050

Bldg. 2088, Cardinal Santos Ave.,
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 6914 / 6916 / 6657
(02) 892 5688 Reservations
Email: [email protected]

ITT Diosdado Macapagal International Airport,
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 2883 / 2139

Hangar: 7224 Diosdado Macapagal International Airport,
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 323 6713 (Angeles)
(02) 849 0100 (Manila)
(036) 288 7272 (Boracay)
(032) 255 0801 (Cebu)
Email: [email protected]
[email protected]

Bldg. 7585, Clark CASS Center, Clark Field, Pampanga
Tel. No.: (045) 599 6739
Email: [email protected]

Domestic Airlines

Facility No. 7233 (former PAL Bldg.)
DMIA, Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 2883 / 887 0332
Email: [email protected]

DMIA Complex, Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 892 5397
Email: [email protected]
[email protected]

MA Roxas Highway, Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 892 6664 / 599 5524
Email: [email protected]

Hangar: 7224 Diosdado Macapagal International Airport,
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 323 6713 (Angeles)
(02) 849 0100 (Manila)
(036) 288 7272 (Boracay)
(032) 255 0801 (Cebu)
Email: [email protected]
[email protected]

Tourist Attractions

Airforce City Aircraft Park
On display is an open field along CM Recto Avenue within the park area a host of flying machines. This park was developed to give local foreign visitors to Clark an opportunity to witness a variety of aircrafts and other aviation equipment used by the Philippine Air Force (600th Air Base Wing).

Clark Air-Raid Bunker (SEKI) Tunnel
Situated at the northwest corner of the Kamikaze West Airfield in a hill called “babang dapu” (meaning “crocodile jaw”), this is the only known Kamikaze tunnel that remained intact after World War II. Constructed quickly in late October 1944 as an air raid bunker to provide protection for Cmdr. Taimai Asaichi, commander of the 201st Air Group, 1st Air Fleet, Imperial Japanese Navy (the very first Kamikaze unit of World War II), and some of his Kamikaze pilots during deadly US air raids. The Clark Development Corporation (CDC) installed a marker on September 1, 2002.

Clark Barn Houses
Built from 1910 to 1913 out of Oregon pine shipped from the United States and following a tropical style of architecture, these barn houses, which were used then as officers quarters, became the first permanent structures inside the fort after it was founded by the 5th US Cavalry Regiment in 1902. Over the years until 1922, hundreds of barns were built inside the fort. However, constant battles with termites, typhoons and humidity made maintenance impractical. By mid-80s, most of these barn houses were demolished. The barn houses along the Parade ground (officers row), remained, and are now called the centennial block. The huge acacia (monkey pod) trees shading the barns were also planted in 1903. The CDC, installed a marker on September 1, 2002.

Clark Cemetery
This is hallowed ground where remains of close to 8000 US military and civilian personnel, who died during the Spanish-American War and Philippine-American war , are interred. Opened in 1950, it is the final resting place for US veterans from the USA, USN, USMC, USCG, USAF, and their dependents. It is the only place in Clark where the Philippine and American flags are proudly hoisted side by side. The largest category interred is civilian, mostly Americans and Filipinos, all of whom worked for the US government. It also contains the remains of members of all branches of the armed forces, members of the Philippine Scouts, Philippine Constabulary, Japanese Civilians (not associated with World War II), Chinese and Vietnam refugees/nationals, as well as nationals from France, Spain, Canada and India.

Clark Historical Marker Trail
The Clark Historical Marker Trail follows the myriad markers memorializing the history of Clark Field, with emphasis on the central figures involved as well as the significant events that took place in the exact spot in the hallowed grounds.

Scattered throughout the Clark Freeport Zone (CFZ), these markers include: the Maj. Harold M. Clark memorial; Flag Pole Memorial Marker, Stones #1, #2, and #3 (also called the President Manuel Roxas Marker); Parade Ground located in front of the former 13th Air Force Building; Fort Stotsenberg gate posts that can still be seen at the southern boundaries of the parade ground; the storied Friendship Tree; M.A.R.S. antenna, also known as the “elephant cage” that received signals from orbiting satellites; and the Japanese Memorial Marker/Lily Hill Japanese Tunnel.

Commander’s House
Fondly known as the “White House” because of its color, this was the residence of the base commander of the US Air Force. It now serves as the Presidential Guest House.

Diosdado Macapagal International Airport (DMIA)
What used to be called Clark International Airport was renamed to its present identity on September 28, 2001 as a fitting tribute to the statesman and renowned father of Philippine land reform, President Diosdado Macapagal. A sprawling 2500 hectare area, the DMIA has two 3.2 km long runways capable of accommodating wide bodied aircraft like the Boeing 747, Airbus 300 series and military cargo planes (including the C-5 galaxy), as well as a wide ramp area, apron and taxiway facilities, as required for wolrd-class standards. The visual and navigational aids permit the safe and efficient use of runways 24 hours daily in all weather conditions. The aviation complex meets the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) standards for Category I precision approach runway. It also rates as Category 10 for emergency services.

Goddess of Peace Shrine
A shrine donated by the Japanese government to the Filipino people to commemorate Japan-Philippine friendship ties, and as a memorial to all the Japanese soldiers who perished during the last World War.

Kamikaze West Airfield
This is the airfield where Japanese pilots (called human bombs) used to stage air operation attacks against American and allied forces during the last world war by launching kamikaze (divine winds).

Kelly Theater
This heavily damaged building was erected in 1953, but the present structure is actually the second Kelly Theatre. The original was built in 1947. It was intended to be a gymnasium, but was later converted into a theatre. Then President Manuel Roxas gave his last speech here on April 15, 1948 before succumbing to cardiac arrest shortly after. Both theatres were named after Capt. Colin Kelly, a B-17 pilot who died in combat against the Japanese forces in 1941. President Franklin D. Roosevelt declared Kelly as the first American hero of WWII.

Lily Hill
Aeta natives gave the name “Lili”, which means “lost” in the local Kapampangan dialect, to this hill since it stands apart from nearby hills and mountains. The Americans later changed the name to “Lily”. Since 1903, the Americans used Lily Hill as an observation post, and so did the Japanese when they occupied Clark. Major Higuchi Tsugisaburo, base commander of Clark Field from 1942 to 1945, dug several tunnels in this hill for air-raid shelters and storage. In 1955, the Americans opened some tunnels and found two Japanese warplanes and plenty of war materials attesting to Japan’s strong defense of Clark. The CDC installed a marker on September 1, 2002.

Clark Museum and Museong Kapampangan
The museum showcases the rich historical past of Clark as a former US military base, and its dramatic metamorphosis into a special exonomic zone and eventually as a world class aerotropolis. History and culture lovers would appreciate this museum. The Kapampangan Museum showcases Pampanga’s rich history and culture through a huge collection of artifacts and photographs of famous heroes and celebrities from the province. Crafts which displays various crafts made in by native Pampanga artisans.
Nayong Pilipino sa CLARK – Filipino History, Culture and Heritage
Nayong Pilipino sa Clark, a theme park environment, is a showcase of Philippine heritage where scale-replicas of various Philippine historic and cultural locations are all featured together in one facility.
For a few examples of the Nayong Filipino exhibits:
• See a replica of the Banaue Rice Terraces.
• See the Torogan house- typical house of our Muslim brothers from Mindanao.
• The Kalinga Houses allows us to take a look at the rich Kalingan way of life.
• There is a replica of a Barasoain Church, while remnants of the Spanish settlement can be found here also.
• A Kapampangan village is shown in great detail.
• The Philippine myth and stories of how the world was first populated by humans is also depicted within the walls of these informative exhibits.
The Nayong Pilipino Park is ever-growing in scope and functionality. With its outdoor amphitheatre, indoor theatre, museum, lodging cottages, meditation garden and function room, eventually Nayong Pilipino will become a full-scale cultural center for the arts, both performing and non-performing.
Paradise Ranch
Paradise Ranch is a 100-acre nature and conservation park designed to educate hundreds of school children about environmental preservation and wildlife protection. Located at the former US Air Force Base with the number one view in all the enture Clark Main Zone and surrounding cities and towns, overlooking the Sacobia River, Mount Pinatubo, Mount Arayat and other majestic sceneries.

Paradise Ranch is open to the public without any membership fee, perfect for field trips, summer camps, retreats, educational tours; get away vacation and more…It has the following facilities for guests to enjoy and learn about wildlife and their natural habitat. A 1000 square meter butterfly garden, aviary, breeding of endangered species, organic vegetable and floral orchard, massive reforestation, environmental conservation and others…

Paradise Ranch is the home of DENR Region 3 Wildlife Sanctuary for all the rescued and captured endangered animals. In addition, it has facilities perfect for your body and soul, a manmade lake for rafting and fish feeding, swimming pool and natural waterfalls and lagoons to dip and be refreshed, with spa and saloon where one can relax and release stress with the unique massage. For those who are seeking solitude to meditate, Paradise Ranch has a prayer hill.


Mimosa Drive, Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 8000 / 599 2288’
Fax No.: (02) 843 1363

5414 Manuel A. Roxas Highway,
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 499 1000
Fax No.: (045) 499 0979

Mimosa Leisure Estate,
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (02) 584 4047 / 599 7000

Gil Puyat Ave., cor. Andres Soriano St.,
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 499 0777
Fax No.: (045) 599 6971


C.M. Recto Highway,
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 5000
Fax No.: (02) 843 9123


Nestled between residential estates and industrial zones are golf courses for the elite and ordinary folk. Clark has hosted several prestigious tournaments like the Johnny Walker Classic and an exhibition game by Tiger Woods.

Bldg. 6004 Villamor St., Clark Freepost Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 6726 / 893 4048
Email: j&kwebmaster;
Website: www.j&;

Air Force City, CFZ
Tel. No.: (045) 599 7000

Mimosa Leisure Estate
M.A. Roxas Highway, CFZ
Tel. No.: (045) 599 7000
Email: [email protected]


Clark is popular for its thrilling adventure sports parachuting, microlight flying and off-road motorcycling. Every February, the Hot Air Balloon Festival features colourful hot-air balloons that continue to draw tourists to Pampanga.

Kamikaze West Airfield, CFZ
Tel. No.: 0921 5404077 / 0922 414 1688

Holiday Inn Resort, CFZ
Tel. No.: (045) 845 1888
Email: [email protected]


Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 9000 loc. 781
Total No. Of Function Rooms: 5
Capacity: Minimum – 500 Maximum – 30,000

Centennial Rd, Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 844 5795 / 633 1566
Total No. Of Function Rooms: 1
Capacity: Minimum – 1000 Maximum – 4000

CM Recto Highway, Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 5000
Email: [email protected]
Total No. Of Function Rooms: 9
Capacity: Minimum 20 Maximum – 1000

Mimosa Leisure Estate
Clark Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (045) 599 8000
Total No. Of Function Rooms: 7
Capacity: Minimum-100 Maximum 1000

The Subic Bay Freeport (formerly Subic Bay Naval Base) is located 110 kilometers north of Manila and is adjacent to Olongapo City. It faces the South China Sea and lies northwest of the Bataan Peninsula and southwest of Zambales province.
From the sea, the Subic Bay Freeport looks more like a huge commercial and industrial complex with hotels and resorts rather than a naval base that is nestled at the foot of the Bataan-Zambales mountain range. Visible too are the de luxe villas that were the residences constructed during the 1996 APEC Summit for the heads of state. Up close, the Subic Bay Freeport has little resemblance to the way it looked before the American troops left in 1992.
Infrastructure around the Freeport is being maintained and modernized by the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA). Now host to the first Freeport zone in the country, the Subic Bay Freeport Zone (SBFZ) – a sprawling industrial, commercial and tourism estate- attracts hundreds of investors and millions of local and foreign tourists today. Businesses from across the world have discovered Subic Bay Freeport’s heart-of-Asia location (being at the center of the fastest growing markets in Asian cities and within easy reach either by sea or by air (3 to 4 days by sea, 2 to 3 hours by air), and its centuries-old experience in global access.
The metamorphosis that Subic Bay has undergone for over two centuries leaves one in a great admiration of how this former ammunition depot gradually turned into a world class Freeport.
Inside the complex are golf courses, a yatch club, casino, hotels and on the southern fringes beyond the airport are the hidden Beach, Miracle Beach, Nabasan beach, while behind the airport are the Officers Beach and All Hands Beach favoured by US servicemen. Just four kilometres north of base in Barrio Barretto is the Baloy Beach, one of the better beaches in Luzon.
Subic Bay is also popular for wreck diving around 20 American, Spanish and Japanese ships lie in the bay. Some of the notable shipwrecks are the battle cruiser USS New York launched in America in 1891; the two Spanish-era ships, El Capitan and San Quentin; and the Japanese POW ship Oryoko Maru and cargo vessel Seian Maru.

How to get there
By Air
The Subic Bay International Airport has a regular direct international scheduled and chartered flight. Far Eastern Air Transport provides international scheduled flights to Taipei and Kaohsiung Taiwan on Sundays, Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

Air Asia operates three times a week to Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur, Kuching, Subang) while Dragon Air operates chartered flights to Hong Kong once a week. The China Southern Airline flies twice a week to Shenzhen, China.

By Land

SBFZ is 110 kms. North of Manila, the Philippines' capital city, where Saulog Transit and Victory Liner air-conditioned buses provide passengers regular transport services to and from Olongapo City terminal. A short jeepney ride takes you from the Victory Liner terminal to the Freeport, while Saulog Transit terminal is just a stone's throw away from the vicinity.

Bus Companies
Anonas St., West Bajac-Bajac, Olongapo City
Tel. No.: (047) 222-2241

1 Gordon Ave., Pag-asa St., East Tapinac, Olongapo City
Tel. No.: (047) 252-2232/2471

Rent-a-Car/Taxi Services

Unit 12, Cluster 1 (Gamma Commercial Complex)
Lot 47 Cor. Rizal Avenue, Subic Bay, Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (047) 252-9988
Fax No.: (047) 252-3279

Bldg. 593, Main Gate Terminal (Dispatching area)
Bldg. 1121 Argonaut Highway (Main Office)
Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Tel. No.: (047) 252-7409
(047) 222-5827 (Van Rental)
Fax No.: (047) 252-3279

Via Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway (SCTex):

Motorists coming from NLEX bound for Subic are advised to take the Spur/NLE interchange located between the Dau and Sta. Ines Exits of the NLEX and proceed to the SCTEx Clark Logistics Toll Plaza. After crossing the bridge, follow the loop of the ramp towards Subic. Likewise, motorists at SCTEx bound for Bataan may exit at the Dinalupihan Interchange via the Roman highway.

On the other hand, motorists from Subic and Bataan bound for Manila are advised to enter the SCTEx through the Tipo Toll Plaza or the Dinalupihan Toll Plaza respectively, and follow the road signage towards the Clark Logistics Toll Plaza. Upon reaching the Clark Logistics interchange, take the first ramp to the right that will lead to the toll plaza, then the Spur/NLE interchange connecting to the NLEX. Travel time from Clark to Subic is only 40 minutes. From NLEX in Balintawak to Subic, travel time is only 1 ½ hours.

SCTEx covers a total distance of 93.77 km. consisting of two sections, namely Subic-Clark span at 50.5 kms. and the Clark-Tarlac span at 43.27 km.

The expressway also has eight interchanges, including Floridablanca, Porac in Dolores, Clark, Dinalupihan, Angeles, Mabalacat, Tarlac and Subic.

Via Olongapo-Gapan Road (now Jose Abad Santos Avenue):

Take the North Luzon Expressway all the way to San Fernando Exit and pass thru towns of Pampanga (Bacolor, Guagua, Lubao) and Bataan (Dinalupihan) to the Subic Bay Freeport Expressway via Tipo Road in Dinalupihan, Bataan. Travel time from Manila to Subic is about 2 hours.

By Sea

A relaxing ferry trip via Oceanfast Ferries, Inc. (MV Oceanjet 1) leaves Manila from the Philippine Cultural Center on Roxas Boulevard and takes you to the port of Orion in the province of Bataan. From the port, a bus takes you to Subic Bay. Do note, however, that bus services from the port to Subic Bay should arranged with the designated officer at the front desk of the ferry terminal. For further details, contact:

Port of Orion, Orion, Bataan
Ferry service between Manila to Bataan via Port of Orion Daily ferry service (Bus service available for trips to other places in Bataan) Ferry Schedule: Manila - Orion: 6:00 a.m. , 9 a.m., 4p.m.; Orion-Manila: 7:30 a.m., 11 a.m., 5:30 p.m. Fare - P350/roundtrip
Phone 0917-556-0647/0922-888-0274
Contact Noel Roque
Email [email protected]


Balon, Boton and Tipo Hidden Falls
These waterfalls have clean, clear water and are surrounded by gigantic boulders. Situated in an area of lush greeneries, the falls provide a cool, tranquil retreat for nature lovers.
Bicentennial Park
Enjoy the outdoors with family and friends at these scenic picnic grounds. Native fishing grears are available for those who would like to try their hand at fishing in the man-made lagoon.
Cubi Point Bat Kingdom
Over 10,000 fruit bats, the biggest of its kind in the world, roosting around treetops are a must-see in the protected forest reserves of the Subic Bay Freeport Zone. Along with a horde of flying fozes and bamboo bats, which are the smallest in the Philippines. It is also thrilling to watch as they take off on their early evening hunt.

Forest Adventure Park
Located in a dense jungle and protected area of Subic Bay Freeport, the park consists of a wildlife sanctuary called Zoobic Safari, the Ancient Worl Museum, a jungle Survival Camp for team-building seminars, Petting Zoo, and botanical garden among others.

Zoobic Safari
The Zoobic Safari is dedicated to the rescue, rehabilitation and release of sick, injured and orphaned wildlife. It hopes to encourage respect for all life through public education. The park is home to different kinds of animals, both endangered and endemic species.

It features the only Tiger Safari in the Philippines, a safari jeep ride in the Savannah (Savannah Ride) that allows you to view live adult tigers roaming freely, and a tour of the tiger museum, which includes an optional “close encounter” (2 feet away) with Siberian and Bengal Tigers.

Subic Ancient World Museum
The museum presents a unique pre-historic setting with life-size replica of dinosaurs, volcanoes, river rides and man-made tunnels. It also features accommodations in a cave-like setting with first class amenities of a five-start hotel.

Jungle Environmental Survival Training (JEST) Camp and Pamulaklakin Forest/River Trails
The camp familiarizes you with jungle survival techniques through a demonstration from the US Navy-trained Aeta Training Officers. It includes sight-seeing and ocular of the area, and an optional Ecology tour and trek inside the forests of Subic, with the help of a native guide, and a visit to the Pastolan Aeta Village which immerses in the culture of Aeutas, and educates you in the various types of medicinal plants that live and flourish in JEST camp’s garden.

Optional adventure activities are available at the Pastolan Extreme Adventure Park Zone (PEAPZ), such as the canopy slide/ride or “Slide for Life” (sit on a harness and ride the wind), wall climbing, tension traverse, pole jump, high ladder, rope corses, etc.

Zoobic Park Petting Zoo
It showcases Subic’s diverse biological resources. It features the Subic aviary and Bird Park with a collection of imported birds, the Butterfly Kingdom, an insectariums and a Serpentarium with live iguanas, crocodiles, snakes lizards and turles. Other attractions include Rodent World (Mive Surprise) featuring an amazing collection of rodents and a Rodent Salon where you can watch guinea pigs being groomed, the Forbidden tree which heps conquer fear of snakes as you walk through a cage with snakes dangling from trees. This mini-zoo also features the albino carabao, potbelly, cassowary, ostrich, deer, miniature horses, bears, monkeys, eagles, turtles, etc.

Grande Island
A former rest and recreation (R&R;) center for most of the American Navy personnel stationed in Subic, it is now an island paradise of international standards, under management by Grande Island Resort. Enjoy the fine beaches of the island amidst aquatic resources, or take a trek along the wilderness trail system.

Gubat Learning Center
The center aims to educate, inform, motivate and empower people to understand the importance of maintaining a balance in todya’s ecosystem and to enjoy and protect the environment by means of various exhibit modules, audiovisual presentations and printed materials. The storyline highlights the famous Philippine Bat and how it relates to the total forest ecosystem.

Hill 394
Formerly a secret helipad, Subic’s most popular peak is so named as it takes you 394 meters above sea level. The hill offers a spectacular view of the legendary Mt. Natib and Subic Bay in the northwest. It has an intact ecosystem and is perfect for picnics, trail ride, mountain biking, camping and bird watching.

Subic Bay
Subic Bay is a picturesque, serene, endowed with sandy beaches and cool waters, exceptional sceneries, a rich marine life and teeming with flora and fauna found only in its bountiful forest and high mountains. The Freeport’s protected rich and fertile soil makes it a perfect habitat for a variety of ornamental, medicinal, and fruit-bearing trees and plants. Creatures of the jungle and marine life as well, thrive and adapt to this place that science and man mutually nursed for them. Given the variety of flora and fauna and the presence of streams, waterfalls and trail systems, ecotour attractions are plentiful in Subic Bay.

Subic Bay is likewise dedicated to cultivating a peaceful co-existence between human and wildlife, hence, its thematic parklands that have long rescued and rehabilitated some orphaned, sick or injured animals. The creation of theme parks makes Subic a destination of maximum pleasure and enjoyment.

Subic Bay Lighthouse
This structure stands on a small precipice along the northbound lane of national highway. It commands a panoramic view of Olongapo City, Subic Bay, and the Subaic Bay Freeport Zone.

Subic Bay Ocean Adventure/Water Theme Park
This first Marine park/aquarium in the country, and a most astounding nautical sanctuary, it showcases Subic Bay marine life and some of the world’s most amazing sea mammals like dolphins, sea lions and false killer hales. The park features an ocean adventure learning center, an animal rehabilitation center, the Discovery Aquarium, the Sea Lion Center, a Whale and Sea Lion Show, Encounter with the Whales and wade with the Whales in shallow water (for kids), scuba diving and snorkelling, sailing and canoeing.

Subic Beaches
Sun. Sand. Sky. A vast stretch of marvellous sea, waiting to be explored. The more popular beaches are: Dungaree, Officers, All Hands, Miracle, Nabasan, Camayan, Hidden and Grande Island.

Waterfront Boardwalk Park
A perfect picnic site at Waterfron
t Road. Watch the majestic rising and setting of the sun as it unfoulds its beauty over Subic Bay, and complements the grandeur of the mountains of the Redondo Peninsula-truly a sight to behold.


Purok 3, Matain, Subic, Zambales
Tel. No.: (047) 222-2378 / 232-2857
(02) 421-2781 to 86 / 396-5273
Fax No.: (047) 232-4446
Email : [email protected]


Viewing 1 - 1 of 1  
  Pangasinan (9188)
  Regional Profile (7999)
  Bulacan (6632)
  Central Luzon Sales Manual (5534)
  Profile of Bataan (4516)
  Caloocan City (3172)
View all »

Manila Weather
Manila Time
powered by weatherforecastmap
Follow us on